Friday Face-Off | All That Is Gold Does Not Glitter

What better way to start the weekend than with an Epic Battle of Books?! Every friday, different editions of the same book enter the ring *cue Tyra Banks* in the hopes of becoming Friday’s Fancy Front – a.k.a.: the best cover *exit Tyra*
This weekly meme is hosted by Books By Proxy who provides us with awesome themes with an even more awesome title. This week, it’s all about the bling bling on front. Covers with gold shining bright. The book I have for you, however, does not only have gold on the outside, but the words within are at least eighteen carats if not shining bright like diamonds in the sky.

 

I might have mentioned it in a couple of tags, but this trilogy – and Robin Hobb in general – is nothing short but brilliant. I read these some years ago after hearing people rave and rave about them and I can totally see why. Not only are they gorgeous books to read, but they look stunning on the shelf. I have every Hobb-book in the very first edition, the UK paperback with the animal on the front. Oh how I love those covers, cause when the sun shines upon them, they glimmer and shine so beautifully and the overall design of the book is just pretty. Imagine my disappointment when the most recent trilogy has shifted to the new covers. They are far from ugly, but I prefer the former.
The other two on the bottom, I don’t care about. If it were between them, I’d go for the first one again – I think this is the very first edition of the series – cause the one with the character is just so generic and plain and does nothing for the book at all.
What is your favourite?

2 thoughts on “Friday Face-Off | All That Is Gold Does Not Glitter

Leave a Reply

