Friday Face-Off | In The Beginning There Was Nothing, Which Exploded

What better way to start the weekend than with an Epic Battle of Books?! Every friday, different editions of the same book enter the ring *cue Tyra Banks* in the hopes of becoming Friday’s Fancy Front – a.k.a.: the best cover *exit Tyra*
This weekly meme is hosted by Books By Proxy who provides us with awesome themes with an even more awesome title. Talking about awesome, the amount of rain we got over the past week was also beyond awesome. Especially on Monday it just kept on pouring and pouring. It was like the clouds exploded and let it all go. And now we’re on the topic of explosions, this also happens to be this week’s theme.
When I read the theme, I instantly knew which cover to pick, since it is a recent buy for me and it was actually kind of a coverbuy. Behold, China Miéville’s Three Moments Of An Explosion.

 

When you go out looking for this book, the first two covers will be the ones that you see the most, I guess. With the left one being the UK paperback and the right one the US hardback edition. The ones below are the limited hardback and the US paperback.
I am going out there and just say that it’s all about the very first cover for me. I am in L.O.V.E. with Miéville’s UK covers – Pan Macmillan does such an outstanding job on every single one of his books, I mean, look at it. When you see all his books lined up, the spines have beautiful vibrant colours, the same coverstyle on every book with the dividing line. Just sublime.
The hardback on the right, however, I don’t know what that is?! It’s beyond ugly. The two other editions are pretty meh, with the first one trying too hard and the second one a nice but bland try in comparison to the upper left cover.
That being said, I think I should give his books a try one day soon. Cause even though I own about seven of his books, I haven’t read a single one of them. They do look stunning on the shelves, though, so that’s at least something.

So tell me, which cover do you prefer?

2 thoughts on “Friday Face-Off | In The Beginning There Was Nothing, Which Exploded

  1. Pingback: The Friday Face-Off: In The Beginning There Was Nothing, Which Exploded | Books by Proxy

  2. Congratulations:) I think you’ve definitely got the best set of covers for this Friday Face-off – what a brilliant set of covers. I love them all, as it happens – but the purple/teal explosion entwining around the font is so stylish and beautiful, I’m all but drooling. Thank you for sharing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

