Friday Face-Off | Just Then Flew Down a Monstrous Crow

What better way to start the weekend than with an Epic Battle of Books?! Every friday, different editions of the same book enter the ring *cue Tyra Banks* in the hopes of becoming Friday’s Fancy Front – a.k.a.: the best cover *exit Tyra*
This weekly meme is hosted by Books By Proxy who provides us with awesome themes with an even more awesome title. This week, it’s all about our feathered friends, the birds. Apart from soaring in the sky, now and again, they grace our covers with their presence. I say now and again, cause I had a pretty hard time finding a book with a bird on the cover that was more than just a little speck in the backgroud. Fortunately, I have enough books to choose from, so there happened to be some birds lingering around.

When you get to a certain amount of books, you inevitably come to a point where people ask you about a book that’s been there for years and you have to shamefully admit you still haven’t read it. Kate Elliott’s Spirit Gate is such a book. In fact, of the fourteen books of hers I own, I’ve only read one – I really liked it, and she is a great writer judging from that one book, so it’s just a matter of always having something else to read first.
This trilogy – of which this book is the final one – seems particularly interesting and years ago, when I bought it, I read that she had awesome plans in this world to connect this trilogy to another trilogy with a standalone between them, so I got really excited and all. Perhaps my excitement will flare up once more in the future and I’ll devour these. In the meantime, let’s take a look at the covers.
To be honest, I’m pretty much undecided in that I don’t particularly like either. The first is the one I own – the mass market obviously – and it’s just another Fantasy cover that doesn’t do much for me. There’s not really something to dislike either. The second one would have been lovely if it weren’t for the axe. I can’t help but feeling that this cover was initially without the axe and then someone photoshopped the axe on it for dramatic effect and they ushered it off to the publisher. Looking past the clunky axe, I’m inclined to go for the second cover, but I have my reservations.

What about you? Any particularly strong opinions?

4 thoughts on “Friday Face-Off | Just Then Flew Down a Monstrous Crow

  1. Pingback: The Friday Face-Off: Just Then Flew Down A Monstrous Crow | Books by Proxy

  2. I definitely prefer the UK cover – despite the clunky axe!! I’d be fine with it if it actually looked like it was a part of the cover instead of hovering over the top of it!

    Like

  3. Pingback: The Friday Face-Off: Renewed Shall Be Blade That Was Broken | Books by Proxy

Leave a Reply

