Top 5 Wednesday | What snowmen do in Summer..

Every Wednesday, people from all over the bookish world gather ’round to share their top 5 lists concerning whatever theme that week. All under the watchful eye of the Mother of all Top5’s, Lainey and hosted by Sam.
The weather is not always cooperating, but Spring is in full form and Summer is on its way. At least, the calendar seems to say so. With that in mind, we’re going to take a look at my Summer reads. Before we start, I should say that I don’t have such a thing as a ‘Summer read’, cause I feel like reading whatever whenever. So instead of my Summer reads, I’ll be giving you what I’ll read, or hope to read, this summer. I have about six weeks off from work, so I hope to get a lot of reading done.
I have several series that I am reading at the moment, and with most of them I’m at the final book, so I hope to finish a bunch of them this summer. I have made a promise to myself that I can’t start a new series if I haven’t at least finished two series before that, cause if I don’t I just keep on adding series to my reading pile and it gets all crazy. Some series that I’m about to finish are

Sarah J. Maas, Queen of Shadows
I really enjoyed Heir Of Fire, so I can only hope that the story keeps going in the direction that book started. It’s quite a big book and they don’t read all that fast to me if I have a lot on my mind, so I hope I can fly through it with more free time.

Ben Galley, Bloodfeud
I really liked the first two installments of this Western Fantasy with lots of bloodmagic involved. After the happenings of the first book, the ending of the second took me a bit by suprise in that an uncanny allegiance was forged and I’m curious to see where it will lead us.

Daniel Abraham, The Widow’s House
I’ve already shared my reviews of the first three books in this political-economical quintet, and the books have gotten progressively better. Despite that, I’m never that inclined to pick up the next book in the series with the fourth being on my shelf for almost a year now, I think. The final book is about to come out in my edition, so I’ll have to remedy my standstill with this series.

Apart from finishing series, I also want to read some other books. For one, I’d love to read another Patrick Ness, cause I still have The Rest Of Us Just Live Here and two other books of his lying around. With the release of A Court Of Mist And Fury I also want to start that series, as well as another good YA Fantasy – but I’m not sure which, any suggestions?
Next to all these books, I kind of want to start the Sookie Stackhouse series – again. I say again cause I read the first book three summers ago on a roadtrip through California and when I got home I watched the first season of True Blood – which was amazing, I tell you. It was my intention to carry on with the series, but I never did cause I was already reading four massive series at the time. In the meantime, I’ve managed to finish two of them and with only three books left, I’m about to catch up with The Dresden Files. So I might just pick up Sookie again, cause those are light reads for in between bigger books.

But above all, I don’t want to pin myself to a certain list of books and I just want to enjoy the Summer and read whatever I feel like reading. In my experiece, that always works best.


Click here for a complete list of all the participants in T5W.

3 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday | What snowmen do in Summer..

Leave a Reply

