Top 5 Wednesday | Us alike

Every Wednesday, people from all over the bookish world gather ’round to share their top 5 lists concerning whatever theme that week. All under the watchful eye of the Mother of all Top5’s, Lainey and hosted by Sam.
This week’s topic is an interesting one, namely five characters we are alike in some way or another. It wasn’t easy looking for character traits that fit me, also because it was a bit confrontational. Still, I found a healthy mix of positive and negative traits so in no particular order, let’s get psychoanalysing.

Hermione Granger, The Know-it-all
This is perhaps one of my less appealing characteristics, but the Hermione from the first few books is kind of like me. I’ll be the one to correct you when you make a mistake or have an opinion ready. When I know I know better, I’m prone to showing it in one way or another.
I am aware of it, though, and am really trying not to be a big know-it-all.

Celaena Sardothien, The Bookworm
While Hermione also is a bookworm, I chose to take this trait from Celaena cause I feel like she is more of a recrational reader. Whereas Hermione reads to up her smarts, Celaena wants to enjoy herself with her books, and that is way more like me. In fact, apart from books I browse for work, I don’t read any non-fiction. I just feel like relaxing when I pick up a book after a long day and I don’t want to think too much.

Jenks, The Silly One
Jenks has this silly sense of humour that I have as well. I am no prankster of a joker, but I do tend to fire off some oneliners, lots of them of a sarcastic nature. Unlike Jenks I’m not fond of using a lot of profanities, but other than that, we are quite alike.

Stephanie Plum, The Klutz
I drop things, I bump into things, I trip a lot. Much like Stephanie, I am a total klutz at times. Fun fact, in January there was a new staff member starting at the school where I work about a month later, she was walking behind me when I tripped over a little stick and had to do an ungraceful save in order not to fall flat on my face. She started laughing and I said “Oh, I meant to do it like that”. Her answer was “Yes, I’m starting to know you!”. If that was not embarrasing enough, when I passed her desk half an hour later, I tripped on the rug lying there..

Clare Abshire, The Creative One
Clare Abshire from The Time Traveler’s Wife is an art student, and while I am not and know next to nothing about art history, I do like getting creative. I draw when I feel like it(the last things I drew were a falling cup of tea – titled “Falling Kingdoms” – and a rose, titled “A Court Of Thorns And Roses”) and I write poetry/lyrics. The latter not as much as I used to, but I’ve heard someone say that they are at their most creative when they’re not happy, and I can quite relate to that. When I have a hard time or feel sad for some reason, I do find that writing comes more easily, whereas I can write to decent happy poem or song..

So there you have it, these are five character traits that fit me. Which characters do you share traits with? Tell me in the comments below!

Click here for a complete list of all the participants in T5W.

One thought on “Top 5 Wednesday | Us alike

Leave a Reply

