Musical Mondays | Good Evening Europe!

While this blog is primarily about books, I have ventured out into TV-land and given you my opinion on some of the series or movies I’ve been watching. I have another passion, however, which has yet to get out in the spotlight. Most of the time, when I’m reading, I’m also listening to music and prior to moving in with my boyfriend, I spent most of my time on my room and I was playing cd’s from dusk till dawn. Suffice to say that I am quite passionate about music and with this little fortnightly segment, I’ll share some of that passion with you.
As you might have noticed, since the last Musical Mondays more than a fortnight has passed. I had not forgotten to write my post nor was this feature put to bed after only four posts. No, I deliberately skipped a week so I could give you this post, today. Cause if you’re living in Europe, you know that this week is all about music with the 2016 Eurovision Song Contest taking place in Stockholm.

You won’t get any predictions or analyses about this year’s entries, cause I haven’t heard any of them except for our own – you can’t not hear it on the radio, even if you wanted it. This marks quite the departure from years past, when I was majorly invested in this event. Let’s rewind some years, shall we?
The ESC has not always been a thing for me. The first contest I remember was somewhere around 1998, I think, and I saw it when I was staying at the coast with my grandparents for the weekend. We watched it because it was literally on every single channel and it was quite amusing to watch. Fast forward to 2002 and I started watching the national selections for our entryand getting more and more invested in the contest, but it wasn’t until the year Ruslana won that I started scouting the event for new music to discover.

Cause say what you want about the ESC and all its campness, but every year there are some acts which I find very much interesting and want to explore further. So for years, by the time the first semi-final arrived, I had already heard all the songs participating, decided on my favourites and scored some new band and/or artist to keep track of after the competition. This has led me to some really nice additions to my music collection.
One of my favourite ESC-discoveries was Vanilla Ninja, the Estonian Pop/Rock band entering for Switzerland with their song Cool Vibes. Most years, I also quite agree with the eventual winner. Some of my favourite winners are Lena and Loreen, but I also went a bit crazy on Helena Paparizou’s tunes. This is what I like about Eurovision; despite its campness, it exposes you to music and artists from countries you wouldn’t otherwise know about. Perhaps some Greek-flavoured pop tunes like Helena might make it across Europe if the timing is right, but the Hungarian folk, brought to us by Nox in 2005, wouldn’t if it weren’t for the contest and that would have been a shame, cause I very much enjoyed listening to their music.
Of course, the constest is camp and quite a bunch of acts are cringeworthe at best but that shouldn’t detract from three nights of fun. Granted, the semi-finals are only half as fun as the actual show on Saturday, cause they feel rushed. But the show on Saturday is great, with the points and glitter and all. Rooting for my favourite and juming for joy when they get 12 points and booing when the obvious points are passed out..

This year, much like last year, I have not scouted the entries for the gold between the rubble. I don’t know what changed, but my interest for it has waned. I still watch it, but with less vigor than before. I watch the show while doing something else and unless there is a song that really speaks to me, I can’t be bothered by who wins. I did like the live tweeting very much, though. Patrick Ness was particularly hilarious! So if I feel like it, I’ll be doing that again. Such fun!

One thought on “Musical Mondays | Good Evening Europe!

Leave a Reply

