Friday Face-Off | You Got The Blues

What better way to start the weekend than with an Epic Battle of Books?! Every friday, different editions of the same book enter the ring *cue Tyra Banks* in the hopes of becoming Friday’s Fancy Front – a.k.a.: the best cover *exit Tyra*
This weekly meme is hosted by Books By Proxy and this week, it’s all about blue on the cover. Blue happens to be my favourite colour, whether it is a bright and happy blue or a rather dark, broodish and sad blue. When I read the topic, I knew immediately which book I would feature this week, despite having a lot of blue books on my shelves.

On the left is the more ‘traditional’ US cover with a woman and a minotaur showcasing the Fantasy, whereas on the right there is the UK cover with a city and clouds and a little boat. Less fantasy, more dreamy. I don’t think these covers could be anymore different than they are and as such I feel like they give very different impressions of what the book’s about. I can’t tell you which cover depicts the feel of the book the best, cause I have yet to read it.
What I do can tell you, though, is that I very much prefer the blue UK cover over the generic US one. To be honest, it was the stunning blue cover that drew my attention in the first place and made me check out the blurb. If there only was the US cover – which I think is ugly – I’d have needed some strong glowing reviews to convince me. Unfortunately, this is once again a case of where a cover is half-arsed and a book loses much appeal because of it. Alas, I feel like a lot of Fantasy covers are half-arsed and have this amateurish, childish look to them. And still they wonder why Fantasy is looked down upon?

Which cover do you prefer? Minotaur or blue?

6 thoughts on “Friday Face-Off | You Got The Blues

  1. I agree the blue UK cover is far better than the stereotypical US cover. 🙂

    On a side note, I didn’t realise only one cover had to be blue, dammit, I could’ve chosen Joe Abercrombie’s new book Sharp Ends that has an amazing blue UK cover. 😦

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m definitely with you on the UK cover! I love that dreamy sea/sky/cityscape – it does all kinds of good things to my imagination! 😀 The US cover is a little generic but I still quite like the style of it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

