Top 5 Wednesday | I wanna meet’cha

Every Wednesday, people from all over the bookish world gather ’round to share their top 5 lists concerning whatever theme that week. All under the watchful eye of the Mother of all Top5’s, Lainey and hosted by Sam.
Apparently, it’s convention season again, cause all I hear is BookCon, BEA and other letters that make up a convention. In all honesty, this is not my kind of thing. I went to FACTS once, which is a Belgian Fantasy/Sci-Fi convention, but I didn’t like how crowded it is. And when I hear that you have to wait in line for hours at BookCon and others, just to meet the author for five seconds and get an autograph? No thank you. I did search the sites of the venues to compile a hypothetical list of authors I’d want to wait in line for if I went, but I found none. There were barely a handful of authors I knew, so instead I’ll give you five authors I wouldn’t mind waiting in line for, even though they are not attending BEA and BookCon.

5. Robin Hobb
Perhaps I should read all her books before meeting her, but from the interviews I’ve seen and the things I’ve heard, it would be lovely to meet her. But I don’t want to just meet and greet. I’d rather take her for a coffee and have a long talk, cause she seems like such a smart and eloquent woman I’d need more than a quick hello.

4. George R.R. Martin
It’s been a couple of years now since I read the last published book in the A Song Of Ice And Fire series, so the strong emotions are gone, but I still feel like I should yell to him for the things he put me through. And then I would thank him for just the same, and yell some more again. Lastly, I’d try to weasel some spoilers out of him, cause the wait, you know…

3. Patrick Ness
Much like Robin Hobb, I just want to have a long talk with Patrick Ness. He seems such an interesting man to talk to and he has a beautiful voice to listen to. I have yet to read two more of his books, but he’s by far one of my favourite authors and I love how every book is different. If that doesn’t require a meeting over a cuppa, I don’t know what does.

2. Brandon Sanderson
It’s pretty obvious why I want to meet with Brandon Sanderson, a.k.a. The Current Master Of All Things Fantasy. I think I’d have a million and one questions for him, but mostly I’ll be drooling in front of one of my favourite authors.

1. J.K. Rowling
Does this need any explanation? Sure, we all know I’d be completely starstruck and won’t be able to utter a single meaningful word, but perhaps I won’t faint that soon so I’ll be able to get a half-decent photo..

If I’m honest I know that I will probably never meet these people and if I should be so lucky, I’ll just be as starstruck even if it isn’t Rowling. If my meeting Sharon Corr is any indication…

Click here for a complete list of all the participants in T5W.

One thought on “Top 5 Wednesday | I wanna meet’cha

  1. Great picks! Would love to meet all of these authors too. Though I think for number 1 I would also just be completely star struck and would probably blabber like an idiot… or be paralysed and unable to say much at all… but oh well, would still be awesome 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

