Friday Face-Off | Like One, That On A Lonesome Road

What better way to start the weekend than with an Epic Battle of Books?! Every friday, different editions of the same book enter the ring *cue Tyra Banks* in the hopes of becoming Friday’s Fancy Front – a.k.a.: the best cover *exit Tyra*
This weekly meme is hosted by Books By Proxy and much like reading is a journey, this week we take a look at books which feature a road on the cover. For this topic, I wanted to go with a book where the two covers couldn’t be more different.

Both editions are from the same publisher, Harper Voyager, but the bright and pink one is a new edition. Initially, when this book/series was recommended to me, I had bought the first edition. While the bleak gray certainly has its charms and fits the rather grim and dark story, I wasn’t too fond of it. I also got the second book in the series in this mass market paperback edition and was patiently awaiting the release of the third one. I wanted my books to match, so I didn’t outright went for it when it came out, but waited. And waited. And waited. But the book never got a mass market release as far as I know. It was released, however, in a bright paperback edition, along with a rerelease of the first two. Since I figured a mmpb edition would never come and I really liked the bold colours, I decided to rebuy the first two and continue along with this release.
Next to the bold colours, I like how the cover seems like a movieposter for a film noir or something along those lines. So it’s no surprise that I favour the right cover over the left.

What about you? Where does your allegiance lie?

2 thoughts on “Friday Face-Off | Like One, That On A Lonesome Road

  1. I love the illustration on the right hand cover but much prefer the composition of the left… so it’s very difficult to choose! I think if the right hand image were larger – and I could do without the bright border – that it’d win it for me! 😀

    Like

  2. I’d definitely pick the grey! I like the font and composition. The right hand one looks too dated, old and text-filled to me, and the colours clash… also it just doesn’t look like the cover of a fantasy novel so I’d immediately dismiss it as non-fiction or literary fiction at first glance (genres I rarely read). I was also surprised that the colourful one is the newer version – to me it looks like a book printed in the 60s or 70s. I guess that is a bit deliberate because of the image style.

    Anyway, was very interesting to read why you prefer the colourful one, obviously opinions vary widely when it comes to book covers!

    Like

Leave a Reply

