Friday Face-Off | Metropolis

What better way to start the weekend than with an Epic Battle of Books?! Every friday, different editions of the same book enter the ring *cue Tyra Banks* in the hopes of becoming Friday’s Fancy Front – a.k.a.: the best cover *exit Tyra*
This weekly meme is hosted by Books By Proxy and this week we are looking at books with a cover that features a city. When perusing my shelf, I was astounded by the amount of books that feature some kind of city, one way or the other. My walk along the shelves was purely for show, though, cause when I saw the theme I knew exactly which covers I wanted to highlight today.

                                                                                     

Alex Verus is part of a world hidden in plain sight, running a magic shop in London. And while Alex’s own powers aren’t as showy as some mages, he does have the advantage of foreseeing the possible future–allowing him to pull off operations that have a million-to-one-chance of success.
But when Alex is approached by multiple factions to crack open a relic from a long-ago mage war, he knows that whatever’s inside must be beyond powerful. And thanks to his abilities, Alex can predict that by taking the job, his odds of survival are about to go from slim to none…

If I look at my shelves, I have primarily US covers – the majority of them the mass market paperbacks, because I am cheap. I mean, why not get two mmpb’s for the price of one large paperback, right? It’s the story that counts, not the cover. This way of thinking lead to me having a lot of generic to plain ugly covers cause I more often than not prefer the UK covers over the US. I just can’t help but feel that there is more effort put into the UK releases..
However, when my eye was drawn to Benedict Jacka’s Alex Verus series, the tables turned. On the left there is the US edition, published by Ace, where on the right is the UK Orbit release. I have heard others who prefer the UK ones and even though I like the style, I much prefer the US effort on this one. Fated is the first in the series and every single book is just as stunning as this one. Great London landmarks with stunning colours and magical misty-light swooping things, which is a thing from now on. In the dictionary under M. I would go into further detail about this series, but even though I have all books released I haven’t read them yet, so I know jack(a) about them.

Which cover do you prefer? And more importantly, have you read this series and should I give it go in the near future?

4 thoughts on “Friday Face-Off | Metropolis

  1. I veer between US and UK to be honest – it’s very mixed. I know that somebody else had this series for the FFO but a different book in the series and a different cover and for that one I preferred the UK cover but for the ones you’ve selected I prefer US.
    Lynn 😀

    Like

  2. I love all the UK covers for this series – particularly the latest novel, Burned – but I can definitely see what you mean with the US cover. But despite the misty-light swooping things, the UK cover remains my favourite. I just love all those little London illustrations which work their way into and around the typeface 😀

    Like

  3. I’m all for the UK cover for this one. They’re simple yet intricate. I’d be proud to have it on my bookshelf, unlike that US cover which is cringe worthy as a paperback. I’ve never read this series, but the blurb is intriguing. Oh I have to agree with you about cheap books, as long as I’m reading the same words it really doesn’t matter haha.

    Like

Leave a Reply

