Top 5 Wednesday | I did it anyway..

Every Wednesday, people from all over the bookish world gather ’round to share their top 5 lists concerning whatever theme that week. All under the watchful eye of the Mother of all Top5’s, Lainey.
This week’s topic was originally about the books I did not finish. This is, however, a top 5 I already did back in November. While there are some other books that I couldn’t finish, I can’t fill another post with it. So instead of giving you five books I didn’t finish, I’ll present you five books I finished even though I should’ve quit.

5. Stephenie Meyer, Breaking Dawn
When it comes to books and tv series, I have this little problem of having to finish when I start something. After being sceptical about Eclipse and nothing of interest happening in the first half of Breaking Dawn, I should have left this book for what it was. Even when the whole unnecessary Jacob POV happened, I kept going. Perhaps it was the little sparkle of hope for a big, epic finale. In the end, I falt cheated and I should have not read it.

4. Julia Conrad, De Draken
Picking up cheap books is not always a good thing – I figure they’re cheap because of reasons.. This book was not bad per se, but it just was so incredibly boring and a big non-event. There were some interesting ideas and this whole different dragons thing that it had going on was kind of nice, but as a whole it just did not work at all.
Fun fact, I bought this book for 2 euros, and since I didn’t like it at all, I decided to take it to a second-hand bookshop and they paid me 4 euros for it! I hope the new owner really likes it, though.

3. Roberto BolaΓ±o, By Night In Chile
This was probably one of my hardest reads ever, despite it being a tiny book. I got it for free somewhere – I don’t remember where exactly – and despite knowing this is not my cup of tea at all, I decided to give it a go on a blue Monday. It is writting in stream-of-conciousness style and just not interesting to me at all. I don’t know how I did it, but I finished it and have no interest in his works ever since.

2. Stephen King, The Colorado Kid
I have read a few Stephen King’s by now, and while I like them, I have yet to read his top books so I’m not blown away yet by the master of horror. Another thing is that when I watch a movie or series that is based on a book, I want to read the book first. After watching the first season of Haven, I wanted to read the book and what a disappointment it turned out to be. I don’t really know what I expected going in, but perhaps something slightly along the likes of the series, with people with X-Men like powers.. Alas, it was actually a really boring book that was nothing like the series at all. As such, I just added another meh-book to my King-pile.

1. Felix J. Palma, The Map Of Time
Do you know that feeling when you have great expectations of this book, but it just turns out to be a big disappointment? Map Of Time was such a book for me. Everything was going right – interesting plot, great setting, elements of time, … Yet, when push came to shove, it just didn’t work at all. I didn’t like the voice of the narrator and I kind of felt talked down to. On multiple times throughout the novel I wanted to quit, but decided against it. When I finished it, however, I felt like I just wasted a huge amount of time on this book.

So there you have it, these are five books that I finished even though I should have given up on them in hindsight.. If I could. Have you read any of these? Which books did you finish that you probably shouldn’t have? Comment below!


Click here for a complete list of all the participants in T5W.

6 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday | I did it anyway..

    • I think I read it in three days, just for it to be over.. I might have skim-read the Jacob part, though. I mean, Bella was already a snoozefest, why add the POV of a redundant character? πŸ˜›

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I agree with both of you. I actually ended up only reading about 100-200 pages in the book before I just gave up and watched the two movies instead. Usually I would just power through and finish it but it was getting to ridiculous and becoming a let down.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

