Top 5 Wednesday | Time is on our side..

Every Wednesday, people from all over the bookish world gather ’round to share their top 5 lists concerning whatever theme that week. All under the watchful eye of the Mother of all Top5’s, Lainey.
This week’s top 5 is all about time and the travels our beloved characters take through time. This was actually the hardest week yet for me, I think. Obviously, my top two picks are a given, but for the other three I had to get creative. So I will present you with one time travel book I want to read and two others I have read but use time in a peculiar way to justify being into this top 5. Buckle up folks, cause it’s astounding how time is fleeting!

5. Diana Gabaldon, Outlander
This is a time travel book that I have yet to read and really want to, but never got around to picking up. It’s not like I just recently bought the book, quite the opposite actually. When I turned 18, I celebrated by ordering this book box of books, and the first five Outlander novels were in that box. At the end of this year I’ll be turning 28 so this series will be on the shelf for ten whole years. Perhaps it’s time to get a tiny bit ashamed? Especially since my boyfriend already got around to reading it..

4. Raymond E. Feist, A Darkness At Sethanon
This is perhaps not time travel in the strictest sense of the word, but I remember this book having some cool dimension-thing halfway through. Also, if I recall correctly, this dimension-trip allowed Puc to see the beginning of time and get some insight into the Darkness that threatened their world. Be it or be it not time travel, I allow it in my top 5 and if you haven’t read this series yet, I recommend you do so for it is a Fantasy classic and rightly so.
Also, over the course of the trilogy the characters age so much, reading this kind of feels like time travel in itself..

3. Walter Moers, The 13 1/2 Lives of Captain Bluebear
If you are looking for a book where the imagination is as rich as it can get, look no further. Bluebears grow to be 27 years, and this book chronicles the first half of the life of a certain bluebear and all the adventures he gets into. In one of his lives, he gets stuck in a hurricane that’s traveling across the desert at suck a breakneck speed that time moves differently there. This is but one chapter in a 700+ book, but since it uses the speed of time and the paradox surrounding it, I wanted to include it here. Also, despite it reading like an actual fictional memoir, it’s a great and imaginative book full of illustrations. Recommended for who wants a fun read!

2. J.K. Rowling, Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban
Which brings us to the obvious books in this week’s top 5, knowing me. At number two I have Prisoner of Azkaban with the Time Turner – oh how I’d love to have one myself. A working one, that is, and not a replica.
This is actually the book that made me attentive to Harry Potter. When my niece turned eleven or twelve, she gave a party and her mom suggested we buy this book since she was into Harry Potter like there was no tomorrow. I soon followed but it took me several reads to actually like this book. This is a hugely unpopular opinion, but this has long been one of my least favourite installment in the series. It no longer is, though, so rest assured.

1. Audrey Niffenegger, The Time Traveler’s Wife
Who doubted that this book would get to number one? No one, right?
Apart from this being a beautiful book, I really like how it takes the concept of time travel and turns it into a genetic variance – I don’t want to use deficiency – that one has no control over and causes more trouble than whatnot. I’d say go read it, but I think I might have slightly suggested that already…

Have you read any of these are are you planning on reading them? Which are your favourite time travel novels – give me suggestions!


Click here for a complete list of all the participants in T5W.

4 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday | Time is on our side..

Leave a Reply

