Choices galore | This or That Book Tag

Choices, choices, … I don’t like making choices. I am more the ‘whatevs’ kind of person who is more than happy to let others decide cause I am fine with almost everything. Today, however, I am putting a stop to that and I will choose between ten pairs. This is going to be le-gen-da-ry! – or at least marginally interesting.
First of all, thanks to Ayunda @ Tea And Paperbacks for creating this fun tag full of impossible life choices, and thank you Joey for once again tagging me in the bestest of tags. Don’t stop doing that! So without further ado, and before I change my mind about making these terrible choices, let’s pick sides!

One: Reading on the couch or on the bed?
I used to only read on the bed. Back when I was still living at my parents’, there was too much noice downstairs to read – tv, talking, … just no space to concentrate! So I always read in my bed, knees propped up onder the duvet and a book balancing on my legs. It was soon before long and my butt was becoming numb, so I had to turn on my side but then my arm went dead so I turned on my belly but that was really not comfortable at all so I let the butt-numbness win in the end. Also, when reading while sitting in bed, if I didn’t pay attention I would find myself sliding down over time and on my back in a really uncomfortable position.
Nowadays, at my own place, I read on the couch. Partly because it’s so comfortable and part because sharing a bed with someone makes reading hard. The duvet doesn’t stay where you want it to, the bf wants to sleep but you need light, … Just give me the couch and the kitty!

Two: Male main character or female main character?
I don’t care. I think in terms of what I’ve read it pretty even, but I don’t have a preference. Both genders can make incredible as well as terrible main characters.

Three: Sweet snacks or salty snacks when reading?
I’m not a big snacker while reading, to be honest. If I’m reading and I get a little craving for something, I’ll just take a break and have a bite, rather than risking smudging the pages. That being said, I’m team Joey and I go for all the snacks! It very much depends on what I’m into at the moment and what I have lying around. Which, most of the time is an orange or an apple, or a yoghurt or something like that. Or chocolate. I always have chocolate.

Four: Trilogies or quartets?
I have a preference for the bigger series. They don’t necessarily have to be neverending, but the idea of having a lot to read is soothing to me. Having all those big series standing there, waiting for me to read puts a smile on my face and when you’re all caught up, you know that – with a little bit of luck – next year you’ll have a new book in the series.

Five: First person point of view or third person point of view?
Different stories can benefit from different POV’s, but if I have to choose one, I’d go for third person. I think that every good first person can be a third, but the other way around just won’t work. That being said, while I don’t really like it, a second person POV once in a while is a must, just because it’s kind of unnerving to read like that.

Six: Reading at night or in the morning?
At night. Definitely at night. I am more of an evening-person myself, so I generally feel better in the evening than in the morning. I really like to end the day by reading – on the couch with the kitty – and drinking a final cuppa. When I don’t have work the next day, I like to read way past midnight, though I try to not make it too late so as not to sleep away half of the next day.
When I was a rebellious teenager, I went crazy once in a while and read till sunup. Oh the days of being young and reckless…

Seven: Libraries or bookstores?
I used to love going to the library, but nowadays I prefer to own my books so I have to say bookstore. While I buy most of my books from Bookdepository, I really like to walk into bookstores and peruse the shelves, looking for something new. When we go to London, we always dedicate a day to the bookshops (Foyles, Waterstones, …)
I still go to the library if I want to read a book that I don’t want to spend any money on buying – cause it still beats reading from an e-device – but my local library, despite it being a big one, doesn’t have a lot of the books I really like, unfortunately.

Eight: Books that make you laugh or make you cry?
What about books that make you feel more than one emotion? This is a difficult choice to make, cause I really like a good Terry Pratchett, but at the same time I also like to get emotionally invested in books.. If I look at the books that I really like, I’d have to say that I’ll go with books that make me cry.

Nine: Black book covers or white book covers?
I don’t have a strong opinion on this one, as long as it’s pretty. But the bookcase downstairs is black, so a white book pops better, so white.

Ten: Character driven or plot driven stories?
A combination of both is best, I think. But if I have to choose between a really good story with dull characters or fascinating characters walking the yellow pages, I’d side with the former. I very much agree with Joey on this one: it’s the plot that makes me want to read a book, not the characters.

Time to choose, Ana, Analee, RedheadedBooklover, Panda, Alyssa, Jess, Nya, Kacie, CW, Bookkeeper’s Secret, Becca, Becca, Codie, Chloe, Chelsie, Cinderzena, Elza, Betty, Gel, Emma, Aimal, Aentee and Kat?
If you have already done this tag or have no interest in doing this, feel free to ignore!

8 thoughts on “Choices galore | This or That Book Tag

  1. Pingback: Tag Time! This Or That Book Tag! | The Bookkeeper's Secrets

  2. I love how you explain a lot about the difficulties of reading in bed! 😁 I personally love the couch but as you said, it’s more distracting with all the family members walking around and watching tv and stuff.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. THAT #1 SPEAKS TO ME. Haha! My back always slides in an uncomfortable position, too – just… ugh! Thanks again for another wonderful tag, I’ll absolutely do this (when you know, when I finally get the inspiration, heehee).

    Liked by 1 person

  4. This tag is awesome, but I don’t think I’d be able to make some of these difficult choices. 😛 Like the black vs white book covers? How do you choose? On one hand, there’s Six of Crows which is a terrific book cover and on the other hand, there’s the Raven Cycle, whose book covers take my breath away. 😛
    I don’t like eating while reading either. I used to, but crumbs would get stuck in the pages and just… ew.
    Thanks for the tag, Nick. ❤ You're lovely.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Pingback: This Or That Book Tag

Leave a Reply

