Top 5 Wednesday | The Morning After..

Every Wednesday, people from all over the bookish world gather ’round to share their top 5 lists concerning whatever theme that week. All under the watchful eye of the Mother of all Top5’s, Lainey.
It was only in my last post that I was telling you how I’m repeating myself into oblivion, and I’m afraid I’m just going to have to repeat myself once more again. For this week’s Top 5 Wednesday is all about the books that got me a serious hangover. Those books are, obviously, some of my favourites, so the good guessers among you can already start filling this top 5. I don’t hangover that quickly and never that severely, but I do experience the “I’m not ready for a new book” syndrome, where I need to give myself some time to find closure after closing the book for the final time. These five books really put me in that kind of headspace.

5. Robin Hobb, Assassin’s Quest
I remember finishing this book. It was about seven years ago, on a bright and sunny afternoon in Spring. I had lots of work on my thesis, but it was starting to bore me so instead of reading article upon article, I went for the final big sprint in Assassin’s Quest. I already loved the first two books in the trilogy, but this big doorstopper was really pulling all my heartstrings. Picture this: the book has been slowly building for as long as I had been reading it and there I was, that afternoon, on the hardwood floor of our cosy student appartment in the sun. Wham! Bam! Emotional turmoil, aftermath and done. All that was left of me were some bruised and sore pieces and it was not a pretty sight. It was not like I was bawling my eyes out, but still..

4. Brandon Sanderson, Hero Of Ages
Hero Of Ages was like a bolt from the blue. Quite literally, now that I think of it. I finished this in Summer, out on the terrace facing a garden in bloom, when I was still living at my parents’. I thought I knew where this book was going and I was all down with it. BUT THEN THAT THING HAPPENED! It was clear blue overhead, but I would have been less surprised if snow came down that moment. That was just, no. I mean, Hero Of Ages is what a concluding volume of a trilogy/series should be, but I was so not ready for it. It hurt me. It stunned me. And I did not touch a book for a couple of days.

3. Audrey Niffenegger, The Time Traveler’s Wife
Raise your hands if you were waiting for The Time Traveler’s Wife to turn up. Funny how I still remember finishing these books for the first time, but I was in bed for this one. I’ve already talked about how heartbreaking this book is, right? Well, the thing that broke me is at the very end. My emotions were already shredded from the tragedy and I could not believe how this book as hurting me, but then the end came.. Now, back at my parents’, I used to exclusively read in bed due to too much noise downstairs from television and talking to read, so there I was in my reading spot, knees pulled up underneath the duvet to balance the book. And then the end came.. What was left of me broke in little pieces by the raw emotion and beauty from that ending. I put the book aside, turned out the light and curled up in a little ball of sadness and went to sleep, crying.

2. George R.R. Martin, A Storm Of Swords
While I have already read the fourth and fifth book in the series I don’t think I’ll ever get over A Storm Of Swords properly. A lot of things happened in this book, but it was – obviously – the Red Wedding that made me hurl the book across the room. I was already in uni when I read this series (despite owning books one through four since I was seventeen or so, but that’s another discussion), and this particular day I did not have to leave for class until later in the day. So I put my alarm a little earlier so I could read a big chunck that day. Too bad that certain ill-coloured wedding happened followed my me throwing the book across the room (which is as far as I can remember the one and only time that I deliberately threw a book) and going back to sleep. When I was cooled down enough to finish, the epilogue stunned me once more and once again I needed time to process it all in my wee little emotional brain.

1. J.K. Rowling, Harry Potter and the Halfblood Prince/Deathly Hallows
Wednesday Night Double Feature! Of course I have to mention Harry Potter, I mean, if this is not bookhangover, I don’t know which book is. I did have trouble choosing between the final two volumes, so I just put them both down here. Halfblood Prince hangovered me for the obvious reasons and I was foolishly believing all the sites that were proclaiming it was all a big ruse. Oh how naive I was.. And then the final one. Even after having read it for many a times, I still have difficulty finding closure. There is just something about Harry that makes me want to keep it happening, even if it’s time to say goodbye, if only for now.


Click here for a complete list of all the participants in T5W.

2 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday | The Morning After..

Leave a Reply

