Top 5 Wednesday | Try this!

Every Wednesday, people from all over the bookish world gather ’round to share their top 5 lists concerning whatever theme that week. All under the watchful eye of the Mother of all Top5’s, Lainey.
This week, we take a look at some of the great books that someone recommended to me. I had quite a hard time picking five books to fill this top 5, cause a lot of the books I read are recommendations from people all over the interwebs, if you count BookTube recommendations. So I had to narrow my approach and went in search of books that were personally recommended to me, and all of a sudden, not much was left. Most of the times when someone tries to recommend me a book, I’m already familiar with the book in some sort of way, so you can’t really count that as a recommendation. But enough chitter chat, let’s get to the good stuff!

5. Dawn French, A Tiny Bit Marvellous
This one was a recommendation from the boyfriend. He really likes Dawn French as a person and since he had a good time reading this book, he thought I should give it a try as well. While I wasn’t head over heels for it, I did like it and it was a nice break from my usual reads. It’s a funny, quirky and heartwarming read about growing up and family.

4. Kelley Armstrong, Bitten
Right along the time this book came out in its Dutch translation, I was busy looking for my niche in the bookworld, what I did and didn’t like. My niece had this book and really liked it and she told me I should give it a try because I might just love it as well. She wasn’t wrong! It took me some time to finally get around to reading it, but I really liked this series from the get go and bought the sequels as they came out. I got stuck reading them after the sixth one, but I’m planning on finishing this series in the near future. I don’t think my niece is aware of the existence of books three to thirteen, though. Only the first and second book got a translation and back in the day she wasn’t that into reading English books..

3. J.R.R. Tolkien, The Lord Of The Rings
When I was about fifteen or so, I started reading the Sword of Truth series by Terry Goodkind – a bit young, I have to admit, cause some scenes left me scarred for life. I was really raving about them to my friends at school, and this one guy was so into Lord Of The Rings that he kept pushing me until I read the book. This was right around the time the movies were coming out, so I went along and gave it a quick read. Quick being an understatement, cause it took me months to finish this beast of a book. In hindsight, a great novel, but back in the day, I cursed it to hell and back.

2. Brandon Sanderson, Warbreaker
So, I was really into Terry Goodkind, right? Well, a couple of years after the previous recommendation, I found my online bookclub. Sword Of Truth was going into the final trilogy then, so I was really pumped about it. Also, since I was seventeen or so, I had yet to discover a lot of authors and thus discover that Goodkind isn’t the writing god I thought he was. Enter bookclub, and I was directed towards a lot of great authors. One of them was Brandon Sanderson. My love for him is still burning strong to this day.

1. Garth Stein, The Art Of Racing In The Rain
Another recommendation from the boyfriend and to date the best recommendation I got. We’ve only just got to know each other and were dating for about a month when he gave me The Art of Racing In the Rain to read since it was one of his favourite books. I’ve already mentioned how this book has touched me and I as well recommend it to others nowadays.

So there you have it, the five best books that were recommended to me. Have you read any of these? Which were some great books that were recommended to you, and which ones would you recommend me? Comment away below!


Click here for a complete list of all the participants in T5W.

One thought on “Top 5 Wednesday | Try this!

Leave a Reply

