Can I have another one please? | The Pastry Book tag

Way back in October, I was tagged by Thequirkybooknerd to do the Pastry Book Tag. As a lover of all things food, this tag is right up my street. In fact, even looking at the banner above makes me crave some of those delicious treats that we buy ourselves on a Sunday morning. But before I start drooling all over my computer, let’s take a bite in this tag, shall we? Bon appétit!

Croissant. Name a popular book or series that everyone (including you) loves.
Oh how I would love to have an original answer for this question, but I would be lying if I did not put Harry Potter here. I mean, this series is the one that got me into reading for real and forever, and every other year, I read them all again. If that’s not loving a series, I don’t know what it. Also, I could be mistaken but I don’t think I’m the only one with love for these books.

Macaron. Name a book that was hard to get through but worth it at the end.
From one literary icon to the next. I found it extremely difficult to get through The Lord of the Rings by J.R.R. Tolkien. I was fifteen when I read this bohemoth of a book and I had the hardest time ever getting through. It took me several months and got frustrated whenever I came across another longwinded description of a tree or rock. In the end, I was very proud of myself en enjoyed the book as a whole, but it was quite the ordeal. I recently bought the English anniversary edition and plan on reading it again.

Vol-au-vent. Name a book that you thought would be amazing but fell flat.
First of all, I don’t get the connection between vol-au-vent and something that falls flat. Granted, the pastry itself is a sad little thing, but when I make vol-au-vent, it all but falls flat. But enough tooting of my own horn.
I risk having things thrown at me, quite violently, but the most recent book I read that fell flat, was The Martian by Andy Weir. The hype had this book already on a skyhigh pedestal, but I still tried to get into it as sober as I could get, with all the praise it’s been getting and all. I, however, did not think this book was clever or funny or whatever. It was just a man with a way to scientific brain and a pubescent sense of humour trying to stay alive on Mars. Also, the events were predictable in the way that you just knew when something was going to go wrong – mainly because there were still a certain amount of pages left, so things had to happen to stall the ending. Not a bad read per se, but disappointing.

Pain au chocolat. Name a book that you thought would be one thing but turned out to be something else.
I don’t know exactly what I was expecting it to be, but when I read A Natural History Of Dragons I was not expecting it to be this fun, entertaining and sociologically in-depth. I guess I thought it would really be a kind of diary, and while it is, in a certain way, it’s more than that. I realise that I am crap at explaining it, but in the end, this book was a great surprise and it is a really thought-provoking and fun series.

Profiterole. Name a book or series that doesn’t get enough attention.
I could, once again, go for Ben Galley here, but I feel that I have done that enough already and I have some reviews of his lined up for the future, so I’m not going to mention him here.
There is this other trilogy, however, of which I’ve only read the first book five or six years ago, but I never heard anyone talk about it. The first book is The Magicians and Mrs. Quent, written by Galen Beckett, and it is Jane Austen meets magic. I remember it reading like a Jane Austen-style novel, with long and complex sentences and beautiful use of the English language, and having this subtle magic atmosphere. A bit like The Illusionist and The Prestige, but as a book. There were also some character developments that made me quite eager to continue on, but I never did. A problem of old..

Croquembouche. Name a book or series that’s extremely complex.
Hands down, A Song Of Ice And Fire by George R.R. Martin. It is a brilliant series, but I’m wondering if the good man himself knows where it’s all going. The amount of POV’s and different plotlines have gotten a bit out of hand after the second book and while it’s all really engaging, it’s a hell of a task to keep it all straight. It’s been two years now since I read A Dance With Dragons, and I’m wondering if I shouldn’t start all over for when the sixth book will be released, cause I know that the details have faded over the years(*)..

Napoleon. Name a movie or TV show based off a book that you liked better than the book itself.
While I am pleased with a whole lot of adaptations, putting the movie/tv show above the book is a different something. I do like the adaptations of Carrie by Stephen King better than the book itself, especially the very first adaptation, dated though it is.
Also, I really like The Hobbit trilogy. My recollections of the book are quite vague, but I don’t think I was all that impressed by it. A reread in the future will shed certain light on that issue though. But I remember rolling my eyes when it was announced that the book would be turned into three movies with lots of added stuff, but in the end I think it are three really good and entertaining movies and I had a better time watching the films than I had reading the book.

Empanada. Name a book that was bittersweet.
The Art Of Racing In The Rain by Garth Stein. This book had me crying on an overcrowded train from Antwerp to Ghent, but the ending was just so beautifully heartbreaking with just this little glimmer of hope. And this coming from a cat-person.. Imagine if it was a book about a kitty, but then again, she wouldn’t go racing, especially not when it’s raining..

Kolompeh. Name a book or series that takes place somewhere other than your home country.
Only every book I own, almost. That’s the beauty of reading Fantasy, it’s almost never taking place in your hometown, especially when you’re living in a little country in Europe.

Pate a Choux. Name one food from a book or series that you would like to try.
I started this book with Harry Potter, and I’ll end with it. Seriously, I would pay good money to be invited to a feast at Hogwarts and try all the good stuff!

Feeling hungry yet, Ana, Analee, RedheadedBooklover, Panda, Alyssa, Jess, Nya, Kacie, CW, Elza, Betty, Orang-Utan, Aimal, Aentee, Jeremy, Jesse and Kat
If you have already done this tag or have no interest in doing this, feel free to ignore!

(*) The only detail that will never fade from memory is when a friend at uni started reading these, and we were talking in class during a little break about the characters we liked and disliked. When I mentioned Cersei, she yelled out “SHE’S FUCKING HER BROTHER!”.. Oh how people stared at us..

2 thoughts on “Can I have another one please? | The Pastry Book tag

  1. Harry Potter is golden- so of course you can pick it! Also LOTR is worth it in the end! haha I did enjoy the Martian, but don’t worry I won’t throw things at you! To each his own and all that jazz :)That being said- I much prefer the Hobbit to the films- mostly cos they were drawn out and ridiculous 😦 but I did actually prefer the LOTR movies to the books (though, don’t get me wrong, I loved the book) I agree- GOT is complex! That’s absolutely hilarious about your friend. I used to discuss it with my Medieval lecturer all the time- to the point where I once went into a full on rant about how the Wife of Bath was just like Cersei and therefore a total cow, to which he responded “she’s just trying to look out for her children”, I said “but the wife of bath doesn’t have children- so there’s no excuse”. Honestly, it has to be one of the weirdest conversations I’ve ever had and the whole class thought we were insane. Thanks so much for the tag- I’ve done this one already, but you can check out my answers here if you like https://theorangutanlibrarian.wordpress.com/2015/10/25/the-pastry-book-tag-2/

    Like

Leave a Reply

