All the feels! | Inside Out Book tag.

Last week, I did the Pixar Book tag in which I had to shamefully admit to not having seen that much popular Pixar movies. Sticking with the theme, this week I’ll do the Inside Out Book Tag, in which I was tagged by Joey. For once, I have actually seen the movie – and quite recently at that – and really liked it. In fact, it gave me almost all the feels, except disgust, but then again I loved Disgust so she was included in the party anyway.
So without further ado, let those feels free!

A book that brings you JOY
Being part of the generation that was priviledged to grow up alongside Harry Potter, I can’t but pick Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone for this one. This time last year, I read it for the sixth time and I’ve come to the point where I almost know it by heart, but it still fills me with joy. The whole series has that effect on me, but the first four books trigger the most nostalgic responses. I remember like it was yesterday, going to the first movie with my dad and afterwards a second time with my dad and brother. I already mentioned it in the Pixar Book tag, but these really are core memories here.

A book that makes you SAD
I hope no one will sue me for being too repetitive, but when talking about the big emotions and books, I can only pair sadness with The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger. It’s a good kind of sadness, though, that sadness you feel when you lived through something and the ending was bittersweet. This book made my heart flutter, broke it in thousand pieces and made me sad again with how it all ended. The former sadness was a sadness accompanied by tears, whereas the latter kind of sadness goes with the tiniest smile and a sigh.

A book that makes you ANGRY
Anyone who has read A Storm Of Swords, the infamous third instalment in the Song of Ice and Fire series by George R.R. Martin knows why I got angry with this book. Yes, the Red Wedding. Martin has the unholy ability to make you care about characters and then pulling a stunt like that.. I was already angered because of the injustment that was the Gold Wedding. Little did I know that the Red was around the corner..
I remember like it was yesterday. I was still in uni, it was December and term was coming to an end. I didn’t have to get up early, but I was awake none the less and decided to get a good chunck of reading done before getting out of bed and ready for class. I put on the new album by Delta Goodrem – Child of the Universe – and started reading. When the wedding was over, I went back to sleep, angry as hell, and the book lay in the opposite corner of my room for two days, untouched. Yes, I was really angry.

A book that DISGUSTS you
Disgust – despite her being a brilliant character in the movie – is quite a strong affect so I don’t throw it around lightly. Books can make me angry for different reasons – because things turned out in a way that I couldn’t handle, as shown above, or because they’re just not delivering, with Breaking Dawn as prime example. To say that a book disgusts me, however, they have to be in a totally different league. Either by being over the top gory or sick, or either by insulting me as a reader.
Tahereh Mafi’s Ignite Me managed to do the latter. I can live with a bad love triangle. I don’t like it, but I’m not all that bothered by it. I can live with a rip-off plot. I don’t like it, but I’m not all that bothered by it. I have a little bit more trouble when the rip-off plot is put aside in favour of the romance. I don’t like it, and it bothers me a bit. But when you spin it all around on top of that, I feel insulted. Sure, when you get this triangle, there will always be fans siding with ‘the other guy’, but when you turn everything upside down because the majority of the readers thinks that the psycho-boy is bestest.. When both characters did a 180 and other things started to conveniently appeal to the massas, I stopped reading in disgust. I probably shouldn’t have bothered with it to begin with since I am totally not the target audience for this series.

A book that brings you FEAR
Confession, I am easily frightened. I read a lot of Fantasy, which is not scary by definition. But whenever I venture out into the horror or thriller genre, let alone see a movie, I get queasy really easy. Still, I do like it, once in a while..
The first book that comes to mind that really scared me, is The 50/50 Killer by Steve Mosby. This thriller has some gory moments, but that wasn’t wat got me scared. The idea of the novel is that this psycho killer takes residence in your home and spies upon your romantic relationship for days on end, before targeting you. When I read this book, I was still living at home with my parents and the killer had plenty of hiding space there. We had this attic which wasn’t underneath the roof, but at the side of the top floor and ran all the way from the front to the back of the house. Thus I was sleeping with my bed next to a wooden wall with an attic-space behind it. Add to that built-in closets on the other side of the room with anoter attic behind, and my imagination was going full speed. I’ve never been as glad to finish a book as with that one. I was really scared back then, despite the fact that I knew better..

So there you have it, five books for the five emotions from Inside Out. Have you read any of these and if so, would you pair them with the same emotion or a different one? Which books do you associate with the emotions? Feel away in the comments!

Time to feel the feels and get tagged Ana, Analee, RedheadedBooklover, Panda, Alyssa, Jess, Nya, Kacie, CW, Elza, Betty, Orang-Utan, Aimal, Aentee, Jeremy, Jesse and Kat
If you have already done this tag or have no interest in doing this, feel free to ignore!

5 thoughts on “All the feels! | Inside Out Book tag.

  1. I haven’t read any of the books but they seem like great answers. Thanks for tagging me! I was just reading this through thinking I’d like to do this 🙂

    Like

  2. Pingback: Inside Out Book Tag | Inklingstime

  3. Pingback: The Inside Out Book Tag – Ana Reyhs

  4. Pingback: Inside Out Book Tag – the orang-utan librarian

Leave a Reply

