Top 5 Wednesday | Bad teeth and time lost

Every Wednesday, people from all over the bookish world gather ’round to share their top 5 lists concerning whatever theme that week. All under the watchful eye of the Mother of all Top5’s, Lainey.
This week, it’s something different for T5W. Actually, it’s rather Flop 5 Wednesday today, as I share with you five books that have a pretty cover but turned out to be crap. Nothing as disappointing as a book where all the effort was spent on the outside, and nothing left for within. One could only hope not to have too many encounters like these, but unfortunately, I can fill a top 5 with disappointing eye candy. Brace yourselves, cause here we go!

5. Kieron Gillen, The Wicked + The Divine
Let’s start off with a graphic novel series. The Wicked + The Divine certainly is eye candy. The vibrant colours, the beautiful panels, the detailed appearance of the Pandemonium, … Only one little thing, though. The plot is just boring and far from engaging. After reading the first volume, I had no clue about what was going on and frankly, I couldn’t be bothered. I kept reading because the characters were remotely interesting – par from the main lead, who is a snooze – but that’s about it.

4. Lauren DeStefano, The Chemical Garden Trilogy
Ah, YA-dystopian trilogies. A lot of these have beautiful covers and end up disappointing big time (think The Testing, Legend, …). The Chemical Garden is no different. I really like the covers – well, certainly the first one, the other two a bit less so, but the characters are so bland and the plot is really not all there.

3. David Mitchell, Cloud Atlas
I read this one for bookclub once, and despite the beautiful cover and all the praise it was getting, I was just not getting it. I felt like it was trying too hard to tell this story in a complex way with a lot of fancy words and fancy author-tricks, but it lost me. Ever since, I’m hesitant to pick up another David Mitchell, despite the stunning covers they get.

2. Stephenie Meyer, Twilight Saga
Do I have to explain myself here? The covers of this series are good. I mean, I do really like them, the simplicity and all. But what’s between the covers though.. But honest moment: I enjoyed reading this series and will reread them again and while I don’t think these books are any good, they are enjoyable. Par the last one. Despite its great cover where some thought has been put into, I loathe that book with a passion and its only redeeming quality – at least for me – is that it has the decency to end. Harsh but true, Breaking Dawn is torture to read. No decent plot. No climax at all. Jacob POV.

1. Tahereh Mafi, Shatter Me Trilogy
Yes, this one does keep popping up, doesn’t it? While the covers aren’t particularly my cup of tea, they have a certain something. The actual words they contain, though. I should not be allowed to talk about these books in the vicinity of minors, cause I just can’t stand these books. I’ve read bad books in the past, but these.. I can see that these appeal to others, but I am clearly so not the audience for this..

So there you have it, five books that have pretty covers but fail to live up to their outer shine. Which books are your disappointing eye candy? Do you agree with mine? Chat away below!


Click here for a complete list of all the participants in T5W

5 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday | Bad teeth and time lost

  1. Ahh this is a great topic for top 5 wednesdays- I agree about Wither (it’s the only one on the list I’ve read)- I’ll take your word about the others! I can also say without a shadow of a doubt that the essence/pledge series falls into that category- great covers, terrible books

    Like

Leave a Reply

