12 days of Christmas Book tag

Merry Christmas dear chums! I hope you all had a wonderful and cozy day around your Christmas tree. What better day than to do the 12 Days of Christmas Book tag? I was tagged by Joey, so take your cup of coffee or tea, take a biscuit, cause the bell they be a jinglin’

On the first day of Christmas, my true love sent to me: a partridge in a pear tree.
The partridge stood alone in the pear tree. What is your favourite stand alone?

This is quite the no-brainer. I haven been gushing about The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger for some time now, so in the spirit of Christmas, I’ll do it once again.
Despite me being deeply invested into all things Fantasy, this is my favourite novel ever. It’s stunning, amazing, breathtaking and heartbreaking. If you love a good romance, just give it a try. It’s worth your time, I promise. I’d also promise not to mention this book again, but it’s a bit like Harry Potter. Certain books just keep coming up till the end of time.

On the second day of Christmas, my true love sent to me: two turtle doves.
Love is in the air! Who is your one true pairing?

Oh dear lord, OTP’s.. I’m quite prone to seasickness, so I don’t really like shipping all that much. I don’t mind romance in my books, but I don’t really look for it and thus don’t get too invested in all the pairings and stuff. I’ve been thinking about this one for some time, and while there are some couples that I like, I don’t know if I would go as far as granting them OTP-status. Also, I couldn’t be bothered..

On the third day of Christmas, my true love sent to me: Three French Hens.
In the spirit of threes, what is the best trilogy you have read?

It’s a tie between Robin Hobb’s The Farseer Trilogy and Mistborn by Brandon Sanderson. Probably my two favourite authors out there and these trilogies are phenomenal. Very different, but amazing in their own way. Both know how to pull the heartstrings and a very satisfying read altogether.
Also, can the covers be any prettier?

On the fourth day of Christmas, my true love sent to me: four calling birds.
Since series usually consist of four or more books, what is your favourite series?

Harry Potter. I mean, come on?! Every other year, I reread this series and it just stays amazing. I don’t think I’ll ever get bored of reading these books. Because this was quite an expected answer, I’ll give you another great series, being A Song Of Ice And Fire by George R.R. Martin. The things he does to his readers is bordering on unforgiving, but it doesn’t make the books any less amazing.

On the fifth day of Christmas, my true love sent to me: five golden rings.
One ring to rule them all! Who is your Favorite Villain/Antagonist?

These favourite questions are quite hard. There are a lot of cool villains, but just to pick one as my favourite isn’t the easierst task out there. I perused my bookshelves, summoning the villains from the books I’ve read, and the one(s) that stood out as particularly creepy are the Steel Inquisitors from Brandon Sanderson’s Mistborn. While perhaps not the main antagonist, they pose quite a threat and I consider them to be villains, and of the creepy kind, with the spikes driven through their eyes and all.. With the points sticking out the back of their skull, no less!

On the sixth day of Christmas, my true love sent to me: six geese a laying.
Creation is a beautiful thing. What is your favourite world/world-building?

Brandon Sanderson is the master of worldbuilding, magic systems, … He is just The Master. But while I love everything he does, I think my favourite world to date has to be the world from Adrian Tchaikovsky’s Shadows Of The Apt series. With its many Kinden-species, the Apt, the old magic, … I’ve yet to read beyond the first arc in this ten-books series, but I’ve been more than impressed by the worldbuilding so far.

On the seventh day of Christmas, my true love sent to me: seven swans a swimming.
Who needs seven swans when all it takes is one good animal sidekick? Who’s your favourite animal sidekick?

Easy pickings, Oberon from The Iron Druid Chronicles by Kevin Hearne. He is absolutely hilarious and I love how he’s wisecrackin’ his way through the books. Also, his twitter account is pretty funny as well.

On the eighth day of Christmas, my true love sent to me: eight maids a milking.
Milk is so 18th century. Which book or series takes beverages/food to a whole new level?

George R.R. Martin’s A Song Of Ice And Fire has more than once made me hungry while reading yet another descriptive scene of yet another banquet. It’s not that I’m craving wild board in honeysauce or anything, but the amount of food is insane and at times I was afraid that the grease would start dripping off the pages. No wonder I want something yummy for my tummy.

On the ninth day of Christmas my true love sent to me: nine ladies dancing.
Dancing is just one skill of a Lady! Who is your favourite kickass female lead?

There are a lot of great leading ladies out there, but the two that come to mind right away are Rachel Morgan from Kim Harrison’s The Hollows, a thirteen-books urban fantasy series which is very much worth the read, and Daenerys Targaryen from Martin’s A Song Of Ice And Fire. She is one of my favourite characters from that series and I really hope she ends up on the Iron Throne in the end.

On the tenth day of Christmas my true love sent to me: ten lords a leaping.
How about your favourite leading lad?

Is it just me, or are there less great chaps out there taking the lead than awesome women? I feel like when guys take the wheel, they soon become dicks and pricks.. Or perhaps it’s just the books I read. Whatever it may be, Atticus O’Sullivan from The Iron Druid Chronicles really is a great male lead. Despite his being 21 centuries old, he’s a great guy to have as your main protagonist and he never becomes a douche or anything.

On the eleventh day of Christmas my true love sent to me: eleven pipes piping.
What is your favourite book or bookish thing with musical influence? (It can be about music, reference music a lot etc.)

It’s been over ten years since I read J.R.R. Tolkien’s Lord Of The Rings but this is the first book that comes to mind when I think of music in books. I own several others where music plays a bigger part and is incorporated into the magic system, but I have yet to read those books. I have read Lord Of The Rings, though, and I remember several songs being sung along the way from the Shire to Mordor. Those little songs that lighten up the pages when darkness looms ahead.

On the twelfth day of Christmas my true love sent to me: 12 drummers drumming.
Drum roll please…what is your favourite read of this year?/em>

In the week to come, there will be some ‘Best Of 2015’-ish posts, but for the sake of this tag I’ll reveal my best read of 2015. I read this book early on and no new read has been able to surpass Rebecca Levene’s Smiler’s Fair. A truly stunning book, described as “If George R.R. Martin wrote The Night Circus” and I couldn’t agree more. Gruesome and enchanting at the same time. I can’t wait to read the sequel next month.

So there you have it, 12 Days of Christmas and 12 bookish questions. Share the Christmas spirit Ana, Analee, RedheadedBooklover, Panda, Alyssa, Jess, Jesse, Kacie, CW, Aimal and Aentee. If you have already done this tag or have no interest in doing it, consider yourself untagged!

Leave a Reply

