Top 5 Wednesday | Once Upon A Time …

Every Wednesday, people from all over the bookish world gather ’round to share their top 5 lists concerning whatever theme that week. All under the watchful eye of the Mother of all Top5’s, Lainey.
In two weeks it’s Christmas, and you can tell. Take a walk in the city and all the lights and cosyness make you feel like you’re walking through the pages of a fairytale. What better way to celebrate this feeling than sharing our top 5 most loved fairytale retellings. Truth be told, I haven’t read that many and I’m dying to read some (like A Court Of Thorns And Roses), but soon enough, I found five worthy of sharing with you. So without further due, Once upon a time…

5. Juliet Marillier, Heart’s Blood
There are a lot of fairytale retellings out there, but none are as magical as Juliet Marillier’s. Heart’s Blood brings us Beauty & The Beast with a Celtic twist and you have to read this book if only for the atmosphere it creates. I found the plot to be a tad too predictable, but don’t let that keep you away from this book, for it is a good retelling of a tale well known.

4. Brom, The Child Thief
Peter Pan never really was one of my favourites. It was my second ever Disney movie (weird memory alert) and while I liked it as a child, I don’t need to watch it again. I also found the Neverland arc in the third season of Once Upon A Time boring as hell.. Despite my lukewarm feelings towards Peter Pan, this retelling is chillingly dark and violent. I did have my issues with this book, but as a retelling, it’s definitely worth picking up.

3. Michael Buckley, The Sisters Grimm
I stumbled upon this nine-books series in the library last year and I’m about to wrap it up before the year’s end. This middlegrade series is about Sabrina and Daphne Grimm, fairytale detectives. They live in Ferryport Landing, a fictional town, much like OUAT’s Storybrooke, where the actual fairytale characters live but can’t leave. It’s a different but fun way of meeting beloved fairytale characters.

2. Juliet Marillier, Daughter Of The Forest
Juliet Marillier once again, but with reason. As I said before, she has a unique way of retelling a fairytale and Daughter Of The Forest, a retelling of the tale of the Seven Swans, displays her lush writing. I have yet to read further on in the series and it’s been seven years since I read this one, but I still have memories of being totally absorbed by the story whilst on the train to school. Good times, good book.

1. Marissa Meyer, The Lunar Chronicles
It’s perhaps not the most original answer for the number one this week, but Marissa Meyer’s Lunar Chronicles are really fun and great to read. I love how she took well-known fairytales and gave them a Sci-Fi twist. It’s perhaps not the best out there, but I couldn’t care less for I really enjoy reading these books and delving into the futuristic world of New Beijing and Luna. I have yet to read The Beast, a.k.a. Winter, but I can’t wait to finish this series.

So these are my favourite fairytale retellings. Which are yours? Also, what is your favourite fairytale? Tell me in the comments below!


Click here for a complete list of all the participants in T5W

One thought on “Top 5 Wednesday | Once Upon A Time …

  1. Loved this post! I am such a fan of fairytale retellings. And I love Juliet Marillier. I’m currently reading Thorn of Towers by her. In this list the only series I’ve read is the Lunar Chronicles, but I will add these others to my list. Some I’ve read are: A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J Maas (mix of beauty and the beast and Tamlin), Abandon series by Meg Cabot (Hades and Persephone retelling), Entwined by Heather Dixon ( The Twelve Dancing Princesses retelling), and Wildwood Dancing by Juliet Marillier (another 12 Dancing Princesses retelling).

    Like

Leave a Reply

