My posse can do .. | The Villain Squad Book Tag

The Villain Squad Tag is a tag I’ve seen floating around for some time now, and I’ve been tagged by Joey a couple of weeks ago. I had the basic outline of this post prepared, but never got around finishing it. This week, however, I was once again tagged to do this by Jesse, so I figured: No more excuses, just gather those villains around me and conquer the blogosphere!

Think of your own villain identity and power!
The thing of growing up with Charmed is that every single time I have to think of a magical power, it’s no X-Men stuff that comes to mind, but the Power of Three. How cool would it be if I had all of their powers combined? I would be unstoppable! No need for my squad to back me up, unless I need breakfast of a small reprieve.. But if I have to pick only one power, I’s go with Piper’s freezing ability. Oh the times I’ve wished to be able to just …
No secret identity though, no costume, no nothing. Just innocent me and my power.

The Leader – Pick a villain to lead the squad
What better leader than a wicked queen? Cause as you know, Wicked always wins.. So to lead my squad, I pick Queen Levana from The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer. As she is a queen, everybody will already bow down to her, and if not, her wickedness will make sure they bend, break or cower in fear.

The Killer Smile – Pick a villain who’s just extremely attractive
Not to give incentive to a power struggle at the top of my posse, but when talking about attractive villains, I have to invite Cersei Lannister from George R.R. Martin’s A Song Of Ice And Fire to come along on our quest to global domination. It also helps that she’s rich, so all my evil expenses will be covered.

The Loose Canon – Pick a villain that marches to the beat of their own drum
Gentleman Johnny Marcone from The Dresden Files definitely fits this profile. A villain for sure, but forging aliances with whomever fits him best. So he’s quite the loose cannon and you never know if he will come back to slap you in the face. Also, as a mob-boss, he’s good to have for his connections to the underworld and all the perks that come with the scene.

The Unhinged One – Pick a villain that isn’t playing with a full deck.
This is quickly becoming quite the royal flush here, but Prince Regal Farseer from Robin Hobb’s Farseer Trilogy is a first-class nutter to add to the mix. I’m quite reluctant to have him, but hey, I need an unhinged one so I’ll find some use for him, won’t I?

The Redeemer – Pick a villain that’s on a path of redemption/would play both sides
A great character overall and a villain you’ll love to hate and cheer on on her quest to redemption, is Terry Goodkind’s Sister Nicci A true Sister of the Dark with dark magic in abundance and a depraved sense of morality to go with. Her story is as great as it is touching and she’s an asset to have on your side.

The Evil One – Pick a Villain That’s Just Bad to the Bone
How could I not dip into Harry Potter and snatch Lord Voldemort for my little band of baddies. Is there any question that he’s bad to the bone? I mean, even as lil’ Tom, as seen in The Half-Blood Prince, he was an evil little prick and growing up did not remedy that. On the contrary, he became one of the greatest dark wizards our world has known.

The Once-Was-Good – Pick a villain that didn’t originally start out as a villain.
Spoiler territory here! Despite the first book being a bit of a dull affair, The Dagger & The Coin series by Daniel Abraham really picks up from the second book on and delivers an intricate plot of political intrigue, economical scheming and some magic on the side. The first book, The Dragon’s Path is just a 500 pages long introduction to the characters and to set the gears turning. It’s there that we meet Character X. Because of the resemblance to a well-liked and good-hearted popular character from another series, I took quite fondly of this person. Alas, the subsequent novels showed me how misplaced my attachment was..

So there you have it, my squad of evil. Scared of my posse yet? Time to gather your own following Ana, Analee, RedheadedBooklover, Panda, Alyssa, Jess, Kacie, CW, Aimal and Aentee. If you have already done this tag or have no interest in doing it, consider yourself untagged!
But before you do, enjoy this villainous song by Lucie Silvas, for she’s willing to be your villain and she returns to form after nine years of silence. Couldn’t be happier to see the return of one of my favourite singer songwriters from the past decade with such great music! Hope you enjoy and check out her new and previous work.

5 thoughts on “My posse can do .. | The Villain Squad Book Tag

  1. Pingback: The Villain Squad Book Tag | Bookshelves & Paperbacks

Leave a Reply

