Top 5 Wednesday | A Hungry Mockingjay On Fire

Every Wednesday, people from all over the bookish world gather ’round to share their top 5 lists concerning whatever theme that week. All under the watchful eye of the Mother of all Top5’s, Lainey.
With the theatrical release of the final episode in the ah-mah-zing Hunger Games trilogy [insert serious sobbing here], this Top 5 Wednesday is dedicated to Katniss Everdeen and her achievements in overthrowing a regime, a nation and our hearts. This franchise is, in my opinion, the best since Harry Potter, so I’m anxious to see how this last episode will pan out. Deathly Hallows part 2 left me devastated, will Mockingjay, Part 2 have the same effect? I hope so.. I have yet to figure our when we’ll be going to the cinema. I would have liked to (re)read all three books first and (re)watch all movies. Safe to say that I failed that big time. I only read the first two books.. But all in good time. Now, here are my five favourite moments of the books/movies.

5. Tributes Unite (Catching Fire)
The Third Quarter Quell’s tributes linking hands during the live broadcast of the pre-Games interviews was awesome. In that one moment, they showed that they are more than mere meat for the slaughterhouse, that they are human beings with hopes, dreams, with lives of their own. The moment didn’t last that long, and once the games were being played, unity was far from present, but another spark was added to the raging fire.

4. Ride of Defiance (Catching Fire)
Catching Fire’s chariot ride was breathtaking. The clothes, the emotion, the defiance. Great scene in the book and a moment in the movie that takes my breath away.

3. The dress that lit the match (Catching Fire)
Cinna is a genius. The first book proved that with the flames in Katniss’s dress, but what he did to her wedding gown was nothing but amazing. This was one of those moments in the book that I really looked forward to seeing on the big screen, but at the same time, I was afraid they couldn’t do it justice. I thought wrong. While not exactly as I imagined, that scene was superb.

Salute the one (Hunger Games & Catching Fire)
In both movies, Katniss gets a District 12-salute from District 11. These scenes were so powerful, they give me goosebumps every time I watch it (cause yes, I do watch random clips from the movies on YouTube when I’m in the mood). On a good day, my eyes start stinging when I’m watching this..

1. The Voice of the revolution (Hunger Games & Mockingjay)
I had no difficulty picking my favourite moments from the books or movies. Hands down, Katniss on her most vulnerable when she is singing, whether to a dying Rue or The Hanging Tree, are my favourite moments. The former makes me cry, the latter chills me to the bone, especially at the end, when the dam breaks. Powerful stuff!

So there you have it, these are my top five favourite moments from everything Hunger Games. What are yours? Talk talk talk below, and may the odd be ever in your favor!

Click here for a complete list of all the participants in T5W

Leave a Reply

