Top 5 Wednesday | Graphic novels

Every Wednesday, people from all over the bookish world gather ’round to share their top 5 lists concerning whatever theme that week. All under the watchful eye of the Mother of all Top5’s, Lainey.
Graphic novels, I knew there was bound to be a top five about these. See, the thing is, I’m not overly fond of them. I read some years ago – but lost track, more below – and I recently picked one up because someone misplaced one in the library. While I don’t dislike reading graphic novels – cause I still read one now and again – it’s just not that satisfying to me compared to reading a book. But as I said, I still read one while doing something else, like watching a movie or a tv series.
Because I haven’t read that many graphic novels, I’ve simply put the ones I’ve read in order..

5. The Wicked + The Divine

The Wicked + The Divine illustrates why I’m not that head over heels for graphic novels. The art is stunning, that’s for sure, but the plot is underdeveloped. The basis premise is intriguing, but the ideas have no time and place to bloom because there are only so many pages for an issue/volume. I have yet to read the second volume, so perhaps my issues get remedied there, but this one wasn’t convincing besides the art.

4. Charmed

Story-wise, this might not be the greatest – at least not as far as I got with those single issues back when they were first released, which was somewhere in the first half of season nine. Still, it’s Charmed. I grew up with this series, for real. I was ten when the first episode aired on the Belgian channel Kanaal2, and while I was creeped out at first because of all the witchy stuff, they charmed me over. The series lost some of its magic along its eight-years run and the darker aspects of the first half of the series got replaced by soapy drama, but it was and is still great. They broadcast this series here almost every year and I’ve seen countless reruns of it.
When this show stopped, I cried a little, but this graphic novel is a nice continuation of the story. I’ve lost track of the issues, but I plan on reading them all through after a complete rewatch of the series in the not so distant future.

3. Rat Queens

I read Rat Queens as part of the BookTubeSFF Awards readalongs and I was pretty pleased by it. My main issue here is once again that the plot is not sufficiently developed for me to really enjoy it. It felt really episodic with some threads to tie into the next volume and in all, it wasn’t all that exciting. What did sell it for me, though, was the diverse cast of characters and the general mood of it. It’s lightheartedness, the banter, … Really appreciated those elements. The big panels where also real pieces of art.

2. Saga

Saga is the graphic novel that got misplaced in the library. I use the term misplaced loosely, cause it was just lying around somewhere it shouldn’t be.. Perhaps someone intended to take it home or decided against it and just put it there. Anyhow, I took it with me and read it on a rather hot summer afternoon. Before picking this up, though, I felt like I was the only one not reading Saga, cause literally anyone was raving about it. And.. I get it! It’s basically a space-opera Romeo & Juliet, but it’s really good, with lots of original elements and beautiful artwork. This is one I want to keep reading for sure.

1. Buffy The Vampire Slayer

I grew up with Charmed, but at the same time there was Buffy The Vampire Slayer. I remember really digging Charmed as a 10-year-old, but being terrified by Buffy with all its nasty monsters and vampires. Still, when Buffy got her stake in me (not a euphemism), she never let go. I think I’ve seen the series from start to finish four times already and recently bought the complete DVD-collection. Favourite series of all time? Yes.
While I was shattered by the season five finale, I was devastated when it all ended two seasons later. I cried, laughed and sang along with Buffy, and one moment it was all over.. But then I found the graphic novels season eight and I was happy again. I tried to keep track of the issues to keep my Buffy-fix going, but life happened and I lost count of how many I was behind. As of today, I have them all and plan on reading them after another rerun of the show. I can’t really comment on the quality of the graphic novels – the actual novels are utter shite though – cause I’m biased to the core. I can only say that while the art is more than okay, they plot just goes on where they left off and it’s all I ever wanted. Just to do it once more, with feeling.

Graphic novels will never be my favourite way of reading, that’s for sure. But I will also keep reading them; not every week, but perhaps once a month or when I’m feeling it. Cause with the BookTubeSFF Awards, I’ve been digging into the graphic novels and I’ve come across some really interesting looking series that I want to check out. For example, The Walking Dead, Chew, Y The Last Man, the Marvel comics, …

Click here for a complete list of all the participants in T5W.

One thought on “Top 5 Wednesday | Graphic novels

Leave a Reply

