Top 5 Wednesday. Fonts on front..

Every Wednesday, people from all over the bookish world gather ’round to share their top 5 lists concerning whatever theme that week. All under the watchful eye of the Mother of all Top5’s, Lainey.
This week, we’re taking a look at the title fonts. I think almost everybody enjoys a pretty cover, and part of that cover is the title and the font that’s being used. I perused my shelves for this T5W, but honestly, it would have taken too much time to look through them all. Still, the pretty books are close at hand, so I figured that the pretty titles wouldn’t be too far off either and behold, five titles of which I really like the font.

5. Sarah J. Maas, Throne Of Glass series

Simplicity is key. While I can appreciate really intricate titles, I actually prefer rather plain and straightforward fonts. For one, it’s way more elegant than waves and curls and whatnot and second, the little details are more noticeable. Take the italic “of” for example. I really like that it’s in italic and prefer these titles to the American ones – even though the covers themself are more colourful…

4. Laini Taylor, Daughter Of Smoke And Bone trilogy

Quite the opposite from the simplicity of Throne Of Glass, but I just find these titles stunning. The elegance of the first two words and the ampersand, like it’s painted on the cover, which contrasts so beautifully with the bolder words. Rather than elegantly painted on the cover, the final two words seem rather thrown on there with such force that bits and pieces have fallen of. It’s a little piece of art in itself.

3. Michael Grant, Gone series

And back to simplicity again. The thing with the Gone series is, though, while the title is really bold and strong, it’s the complete package that does it for me. Not only the font that fits the story, but also the added elements of the glow and teens/bugs added makes this really attractive. It also helps that the rest of the cover is pitch black, so the title really stands out even though it’s simple.

2. Robin Hobb, Realm Of The Elderlings series


While I was a pit peeved that my edition of the Robin Hobb series did a coverchange with the latest trilogy, I couldn’t stay mad for long. Because honestly, even though I prefer the older styling, this is just a piece of medieval art. Not only the overall lay-out, but the sweep of the lines, the elegance of the title as a whole, … If someone told me they chose to copy a handpainted page from the medieval hall in the British Museum, I wouldn’t doubt it for a second.

1. Ben Galley, Emaneska series

And finally, the Emaneska series by Ben Galley. I’ve put these on the top spot, not only because the titles are pretty as could be, but also because they embody the best elements of the former. A simple font like Throne Of Glass and Gone, the elegance displayed by Robin Hobb and the combination of elegance and roughness as with Laini Taylor. The covers are stunning as a whole, but the titles do pretty well on their own.

So what about you? What do you think of these titles and what are your favourites? Comment away!


Click here for a complete list of all the participants in T5W.

8 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday. Fonts on front..

  1. You’ve chosen some great fonts! I also had the books from The Farseer Trilogy on my list; I love that sort of medieval hand-drawn style they have. The Daughter of Smoke and Bone Trilogy has a very eye-catching font as well, and I agree, I like the style of the UK editions of the Throne of Glass novels better than the American ones. Great post! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

