Top 5 Wednesday. Bloglove..

Every Wednesday, people from all over the bookish world gather ’round to share their top 5 lists concerning whatever theme that week. All under the watchful eye of the Mother of all Top5’s, Lainey.
This week, we stray from books and venture into the medium which we use to gush and rant about our beloved darlings. So behold, five reasons why I like blogging.

5. The learning
Since English is not my primary language, every blog post I write is an exercise in English. I often consult my dearest Know-it-all friend Google to help me find the right words and put them to good use.
Aside from the language, I type these posts in HTML. These little bits of code I use to make it all less dull is also part of my learning experience, along with issues of style, lay-out, … So basically, blogging is like being a full-time student all over again!

4. The creativity
In general, I really love the book community’s creativity. The creating of those tags, the styling applied by Bookstagrammers, … It’s wonderful.
This also applies to the bloggers I follow. Some come up with beautiful and creative concepts and since I like to be creative as well, it challenges and inspires me. Not for my blog per se, but in general, as a hobby.

3. Reviews & Recommendations
A.K.A.: “The rise of TBR-mountain”.
To be honest, this started when I came across GoodReads, but blogging only furthered it along. Seeing all those glowing reviews and recommendations, I can’t help but think “Wants it! Wants it!”.
I try to scroll through my WordPress and YouTube feed on a daily basis, looking for reviews on books I might like and adding them to my wants-it-list. Oh those lovely moments..

2. Venting
The reason why I started blogging in the first place, was because I wanted to share my ideas and opinions on the books I’ve read. Sometimes, I just have to talk about a book, get my thoughts out there, but there isn’t always someone around willing to listen.
So initially, I started posting reviews on GoodReads. The thing is, while comments are possible on there, it’s rather rare. So posting my reviews in order to communicate with others about books, was as effective as writing my review on a post-it and sticking it to a random wall out there, in the hopes of someone writing a post-it back. Hence why I started blogging and behold, people actually talk back and listen to my gushing, ranting, venting and rambling!

1. The community
Which brings me to the final one, the community. The primary reason why I love blogging, is you guys *sniffs*
Seriously, this place is filled with wonderful people with whom it is great sharing thoughts and opinions about our mutual love for books. A like, a comment, a follow, … It’s a little sign of “I heard you”, and it makes this world feel just a little more connected. Reading is a very particular and personal experience, and being able to share those experiences with others just takes it that extra little step beyond just me.


Click here for a complete list of all the participants in T5W.

Leave a Reply

