I admit. The Secret Life of a Bookblogger tag..

I like doing fun tag-posts. In recent months, I’ve done some without being tagged – just because they’re fun. But some time ago, I actually got tagged in the Secret Life of a Bookblogger tag by Aimal from Bookshelves & Paperbacks. So without further due, I welcome you to my secret life…

How long have you been a blogger?
For some years now, I think. When I was in high school, I tried my hand at blogging on Myspace. Yes, I’m actually old enough to remember that vividly.. That wasn’t a big success, though, cause Myspace was clunky and I got bored.
Then, in 2013 or somewhere around that time, I created a Blogspot account. I did that for some time, but rather sporadically. The interface just wasn’t user-friendly, I thought, and the lack of response wasn’t really motivating either. So come 2015, this WordPress came around. In the meanwhile, my boyfriend was on WP for some time and I noticed how nice it was, so I took the leap and here we are today.

At what point do you think you’ll stop blogging?
When it’s no longer fun. That’s a golden rule for life, I think. When you’re doing something that is no fun, you either stop and find something else, or you fun it up.

What’s the best thing about blogging?
This answer is perhaps a bit cliché, but talking to you guys. Getting my ideas on books and other random stuff out there is one thing, but actually connecting with people worldwide over books is rather wonderful, isn’t it?

What’s the worst thing about blogging?
There are no bad things about blogging, but sticking to your schedule when working fulltime is rather hard at times. Especially since reviews are rather time-consuming to write, I sometimes find it hard to motivate me to write.. Last Friday, I fell asleep halfway through my review for The Martian..

How long does it take for you to find/create pictures for your post?
Compared to other blogs out there, I put way less effort into my posts than others. I mean, have you seen Jesse’s reviews?
So no, it doesn’t take me that long. When I start a review, I have a fairly good idea about which gif/picture I want to go along with it and since the Internet is full of fun gifs, finding the right one is not that hard.

Who is your book crush?
At the moment, no one. I don’t crush that easily and have yet to encounter a fictional guy who sweeps me off my feet.

What author would you like to have on your blog?
Robin Hobb! Brandon Sanderson! J.K. Rowling! But honestly, I would be honoured to have any author on my blog of whom I’ve read and liked books.

What do you wear while you write your blog posts?
I write my posts at home, but not at a specific time, so probably something comfortable? At the moment, pants, t-shirt and a cardigan.

How long does it take you to prepare?
Anywhere from half an hour to two hours. When I do a quick tag or Top 5, it takes me about half an hour start to finish. Reviews take a little longer since there is more text and lay-out to consider.

How do you feel about the bookblogger community?
Up till now, I’ve only met really nice people, so I can safely say that I really like the community. It’s a warm and open group where anyone gets embraced from the get-go.

What should be done to achieve a successful blog?
That depends on the goals you set for yourself. My goal is to have fun with it, and while new followers/views/comments are always nice, I don’t use those parameters to measure success.
People respond to what I write and engage in conversations, connect. That is success, whether it’s 5 or 500 people.

So there you have it, my secrets unveiled. Or at least some minor ones.. I am not going to tag anyone, but if you like this tag, then by all means, go ahead and do it! Here’s to blogging!

5 thoughts on “I admit. The Secret Life of a Bookblogger tag..

Leave a Reply

