Top 5 Wednesday. It’s in my head, so it’s real..

Every Wednesday, people from all over the bookish world gather ’round to share their top 5 lists concerning whatever theme that week. All under the watchful eye of the Mother of all Top5’s, Lainey.
This week’s Top 5 is our favourite fictional cities. I had to think a while before I could find five, cause I was always thinking I wanted to live there “after such and such had happened” so I wouldn’t be in constant mortal peril. Anyhow, pack your bags, cause we’re moving to five wonderful destinations!

5. Ferryport Landing
Michael Buckley’s Ferryport Landing is a lot like Once Upon A Time’s Storybrooke – or is it the other way around. A cute little town where fairytale characters are your neighbour, where no one blinks an eye when something magical happens and crazy is the new normal.
Also, if it gives me a chance at a date with Prince Phillip from Sleeping Beauty, I’m in!(*)

4. Zamonia
Granted, it’s a bit cheating cause Zamonia is no mere city but a whole continent, but I couldn’t pick a place. Walter Moers’s imagination is almost legendary when it comes to populating his world. Not only with the inhabitants, but also the buildings, the lay of the land, the plants, the everything. This is truly fantastical in every sense of the word.

3. Rivendell
I dare you to go to Rivendell and not wanting to stay there. That is, when Sauron is not causing too much trouble in his creepy dark tower.. But other than imminent danger and pending doom, it seems like a great place to live. The trees, the water, the calm.. Walking through its halls, surrounded by nature. What could be better?

2. Ankh-Morpork
From the quiet of the forst to the bustling streets of Ankh-Morpork, for the avid reader, it’s just a book away. Words fail to describe how awesome the city of Ankh-Morpork – and Discworld in general – is. You just have to read it and experience it for yourself, cause while the city in itself is great, the brilliance is in the details. Discworld is filled to the brim with references to and parodies of our world and you might pick up on other things than I did. As such, it’s an experience of a lifetime walking these streets.

1. Hogsmeade (or any other Wizarding location)
Is it just me, or can you answer almost any book related favourite-question with Harry Potter? This one is no different. Diagon Alley or Hogsmeade, it’s like choosing between the kitty and the boyfriend when it comes to whom you love the most.. (joking, the kitty of course!) But if I really really have to pick one and not apparate from one location to the other, I’d go with Hogsmeade. For one, it’s closer to Hogwarts thus I can stalk them until I get allowed in and second, they have secret passages leading into Hogwarts. Also, butterbeer and candy galore.


Click here for a complete list of all the participants in T5W.
(*) Aurora is always sleeping, so I guess I’ll have a fair shot, right?!

One thought on “Top 5 Wednesday. It’s in my head, so it’s real..

Leave a Reply

