Top 5 Wednesday| More more more ..

Every Wednesday, people from all over the bookish world gather ’round to share their top 5 lists concerning whatever theme that week. All under the watchful eye of the Mother of all Top5’s, Lainey.
This week’s topic is our top five series I wish had more books. This is a tough one for me, cause I’m all about closure. Sure, if I’m really invested in a series, I can’t help but wanting more after finishing it, but after a while, when sanity returns, I realise that closure trumps milking the cow in order to avoid juming the shark (*). Another reason why I had a hard time coming up with five series, is that I’m really bad at finishing series. I’m always reading several series at the same time because I like jumping back and forth between them, so actually finishing them takes a while. Especially with the longer ones. I’m looking at you, Anita Blake.
Still, I managed to come up with five, so without further due, let’s get to it.

5. Veronica Roth, Divergent trilogy
If you’ve read my review on Insurgent, you might have picked up on the fact that it wasn’t my favourite book in the world. Also, I liked Allegiant even less. So why more books? I wouldn’t mind another book – or two – if Insurgent and Allegiant can be explained away as an elaborate sim that Tris entered at the end of Divergent. Sure, it’s lame, but it’s also the only way this series can get on track without denying the existence of Insurgent and Allegiant.

4. Kim Harrison, The Hollows
This 13-book series actually had a really nice ending, but I wouldn’t mind another installment. I can’t believe that Rachel and co. won’t get into any more trouble, so I bet there are antics and other shenanigans ahead. If so, I would like to be in for the ride.
Even so, if there won’t ever be another Hollows book, I won’t go marching down the street. As I said, closure trumps milking and closure is what you get with this series.

3. Patrick Ness, Chaos Walking Trilogy
Patrick Ness. If he wrote the phone book, I would love it. Chaos Walking was such a good trilogy and I feel like there is a whole world left to be explored. Do it, Pats. Even if only through short stories..

2. Suzanne Collins, The Hunger Games
When I finished Mockingjay, my friends and I had this whole debate on whether or not there were a final Hunger Games and what came after. That little epilogue didn’t cut if for me. I need more. Also, prequels. 73 to be precise.

1. J.K. Rowling, Harry Potter
Wishful thinking. On the one hand, I applaud Rowling for sticking to the seven books she set out to write and not milk this cow dry till Harry is in his late seventies or so. As it is, I’ll settle for the prequel-films and everything else Potter-related I can get my mugglehands on.

Click here for a complete list of all the participants in T5W.

(*) Question: how many animals can I fit in this post?

2 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday| More more more ..

  1. I too applaud authors who say they’re done and stick with it. Even if by some miracle Rowling writes more HP books, I would be very, very skeptical of them because there will always be that cynical part of my mind saying, “I thought you were done.”

    And haha, Anita Blake. I don’t know if I could catch up with that series even if I wanted to.

    Like

  2. I’m glad that Rowling stopped where she did. I’m worried that if she writes anything else, it’ll be forced and a disappointment. I disliked Allegiant so much that I don’t think I’d ever read anything else in that universe again, haha! I also need to read that Patrick Ness trilogy. I’ve heard a lot of good things about it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

