What if Zelda was a girl? Legend of Zelda Book Tag

One of my favourite game franchises ever is The Legend of Zelda. I own almost all of the games on the different platforms and while I have yet to finish one all by myself – Oracle of Ages and Seasons saw me cheating big time by using an online walkthrough, but I was fifteen and heavily frustrated with both games as I couldn’t figure out how to get past a certain point.. – I love these so much. The story, the style, the puzzles, … It’s nostalgia galore.
When I saw the Zelda book tag that LorienKittyBooks created, it was a no-brainer. I had to do this one. So get your shield, sword and whatever items you need, cause here we go!

1. Legend of Zelda: Your favorite classic
I haven’t read that much classics. In fact, I can count the number of classics I’ve read on my one hand, so I don’t have any favourites here. Perhaps, given plenty of time to read, I’ll come ’round to reading the classics and then I’ll have a favourite.

2. The Adventure of Link: A sequel that was just as good if not better than the original
It’s not often that I read a sequel which I find to be better than the first book. I do think that Catching Fire is as good if not a little better than The Hunger Games. The biggest improvement from the first book in a series, however, goes to King’s Blood by Daniel Abraham. It is the sequel to The Dragon’s Path, a book which felt like 500 pages of setup, only to get things going in the second book.

3. Link’s Awakening: Saddest book you ever read
There are several books that come to mind right now. First and foremost, A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness was a heartbreakingly beautiful book. Very sad, but very beautiful. A close second are Assassin’s Quest by Robin Hobb and Harry Potter and the Halfblood Prince by J.K. Rowling. Both had me sobbing at the end. Also, The Art Of Racing In The Rain by Garth Stein. Oh boysie.. I finished it on a busy trainride home and I was bawling my eyes out.

4. Ocarina of Time: A book where the main character matures
Assassin’s Apprentice by Robin Hobb is not only a beautiful book, but also a great character study, which shows development, growth and maturity in the face of duress. Another one I can think of off the top of my head is Wit’ch War by James Clemens, in which Elena matures quite literally. Not my favourite plot device in the world, but still a great series.

5. Majora’s Mask: A book where time is an important element
For this, I can pick one of my favourite books of all time. The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger has an important time-element, obviously, but apart from that it is such a heartbreakingly beautiful book. The way the plot is structured is genious. Depite the messed-up chronology the plot moves smoothly and brings you to the breaking point.

6. Oracle of Ages/Seasons: A duology or two books that don’t get the attention they deserve
As an author, N.K. Jemisin doesn’t get the attention she deserves. But when she’s mentioned, people always talk about her Hundred Thousand Kingdoms trilogy or her brand new The Fifth Season. Sometimes, it’s like she never wrote the greatness that is the Dreamblood duology. Fantasy in an Egypt-like desert-setting with dreammagic. Read it! Now! Or at least after you finish reading this post.

7. Wind Waker: A book revolving around the sea in some way
When it comes to these tags, I feel like a lot of the same authors come up when I answer these questions. Once again, I have to mention one of my favourite authors, Patrick Ness. His novel More Than This starts with a boy drowning in the ocean. How much more sea can you want?

8. Four Swords: Book or series with the best fandom
I’m not really into fandoms. Partially because I haven’t read half of the books in the big fandoms out there. So let’s go with the obvious one here: Harry Potter

9. Minish Cap: A book that reminds you of being little
I read a lot of books when I was little. The library was almost my second home. So there are quite a lot of books that I read when I was in elementary school, but none that really made a lasting impression. Sure, once in while when I come across some old books of mine like Marc De Bel or something like that, I can reminisce on times gone by, but it wasn’t until Harry Potter came along that words got imprinted on my mind in a permanent way. Thanks for defining my pre-teen and teenage years, J.K. Rowling. I wouldn’t have it any other way.

10. Twilight Princess: A book with a dark theme
Talking about impressions, Emma Donogue made one with Room some years back. This was far from a happy book. A very good book, but some dark stuff there..

11. Skyward Sword: A book that was difficult to get through
Skyward Sword is definitely a tough game, but fun all the while. I can’t say that bout Terry Goodkind’s Pillars Of Creation. The seventh book in the series and suddenly the main characters are gone until the last couple of chapters. He pulled such a stunt in the fifth book, but that was only for the first two hundred pages or so. Still the hardest two hundred pages from that book. But a whole book? Who does that? It doesn’t help that it is boring as hell and the characters of Jenssen and Oba are okay and repulsive respectively. Oh that book is not good.

12. Hyrule Warriors: Most anticipated upcoming release
Once again, the usual suspects. Patrick Ness’ newest hatchling The Rest Of Us Just Live Here is skyhigh on my anticipated releases list, alongside others like Brandon Sanderson, Sarah J. Maas, …

Leave a Reply

