Game over. Continue? Nintendo Book Tag

Next to reading, my favourite hobby is watching TV-series and movies, but during my time in high school, I was a big gamer. I played the odd game on the computer – some Rise of Nations for example – but I was primarily addicted to Nintendo.
In recent years, my gaming has been a little slow, but every once in a while I tend to pick up one of my handhelds. Since I have quite a history with Nintendo, I was eager to do the Nintendo Book Tag, created by the lovely Sam from Novels and Nonsense.

1. NES (Nintendo Entertainment System): A Classic you want to read
Time for a confession. I have hardly read any classics yet. We do own quite the pair of them, though, but since it’s out of my comfort zone it takes some effort to pick them up. The ones I really want to read though, are Alice in Wonderland, Jane Austen and Wuthering Heights.

2. SNES (Super Nintendo): A Sequel you liked more than the 1st (can be a 2nd book in a series)
There are not a lot of sequels that I have read that are better than the first installment. The one that comes to mind, is Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins. While I really liked The Hunger Games, Catching Fire was a step up from that.

3. Nintendo 64: A book that revolutionized the way you look at the world
Difficult question, this one. I can’t say that there have been books that really changed me.. I do know that when I read my first Brandon Sanderson, I was in awe of his craft. The worlds he created, the way the story fits and above all the magic systems he came up with. These books might not have changed the way I look at the world, but they did change the way I look at books at what I’ve come to expect from them.

4. Gamecube: A popular book that did not go over so well with you
I wasn’t really impressed with a lot of YA novels that followed in the wake of The Hunger Games. Whether a blatant copy or a weak rip-off, they left a lot to be desired. There is one, however, that despite huge buzz, rubbed me the wrong way. Tahereh Mafi’s Shatter Me series just wasn’t what I wanted – at all. I finished the whole thing because I wanted to know how it all ended, cause I’m curious like that, but it cost me a whole lot of effort to not throw the books across the room while reading.

5. Wii: A new favorite book
I recently read and reviewed Smiler’s Fair by Rebecca Levene. While it is certainly not a book for everyone, I became mesmerised by the story and its characters and I can’t wait to get my hands on the sequel. Best book I read this year and I don’t think any book will surpass this one.

6. Nintendo Power: Favorite Graphic novel series or a series you want to start
I’m not big on graphic novels, comics and the like, so there is not really a series that I want to read. I did read my first graphic novel recently, however, and while I don’t feel the need to go on a craze, I did see Saga’s appeal. If I happen to stumble upon the second volume in the library, I might take it home with me.

7. Super Mario: A Character that you’d love to squish like a Goomba
If there is one character that is eligible to be squished, it is Richard Rahl from Terry Goodkind’s Sword Of Truth series. The boy starts off alright, though. Simple and humble with a little stick up his ass, but since he’s a professional guide in the woods, it comes with the job. However, from the second book on he becomes a professional preacher and a righteous ass. By the end of the eleventh book, he’s an insufferable prick that has no real sense of magic, but comes up with the right ideas at the right time, all the while droning on and on about morality. If Mario would inhabit his world…

8. Zelda: A newer fantasy that you consider to be a modern classic
Is there anyone who does not answer Harry Potter to this question? If so, have you read Harry Potter? Keep reading it until your answer to this question is Harry Potter.

9. Samas-Aran: Favorite Sci-fi novel or one you want to read
While I adore Fantasy, I’m not really into Sci-Fi so I don’t have a favourite. I do have some books around the house that fit the genre, though, and I’d really like to get to them sometime. They are Terry Pratchett and Stephen Baxter’s The Long Earth series and Rachel Bach’s Paradox series. Oh, and also Douglas Adams’s The Hitchhiker’s Guide To The Galaxy, but that’s a given, I think.

10. Pokemon: Book editions that you want to collect
Pokémon! Who doesn’t like Pokémon?! But I digress.. There are not a lot of editions that I want to collect. In most cases, I go for the cheapest mass market when available or the small paperbacks. The only exceptions to this, however, are Brandon Sanderson and Robin Hobb. With both, I want to collect the beautifully stunning UK editions, cause their artwork is the most beautiful of all the books I own, in my opinion.
Robin Sanderson

11. Donkey Kong: A book with original characters
Adrian Tchaikovsky’s Shadows of the Apt, hands down. This series takes place in a world where insects got the upper hand and people had to adapt in order to survive. As such, different ‘Kinded’ inhabit the world. These are humans but with insect-like abilities and appearances, such as Beetle Kinden, Wasp, Moth, Spider, Mantis, … Which means that they can sprout wings or blast stingers from their hands. All this in a world where technology is pushing the magic into the shadowy corners of the world. I’ve read the first four books in this ten-books series, comprising the first arc dealing with the Wasp-war and they are great reads. Chunky books, but so original and captivating it is worth your time.

12. Nintendo Fandom: Favorite Nintendo game(s) or game you really want
As I said in the introduction to this post, I’ve been a bit out of the game – pun intended – in recent years. Still, I do love The Legend of Zelda, Final Fantasy, Fire Emblem, Kingdom Hearts and Pokémon very much. Every once in while, I tend to pick up my handheld and play some.
Funny thing is, while I own most of the games in all of these franchises, I don’t think I’ve ever finished one. Well, I did finish Zelda Oracle of Ages and Seasons, but with an online walkthrough, so they don’t count. I always manage to get stuck somewhere and as a result I neglect the game for some time. When I pick it up again, I’m most definitely lost cause I have no clue as to what I was doing and have to start all over again. While this frustrates me sometimes, I do love these games to bits – pun not intended – and will keep playing them.
The most recent additions to the franchises do require me to buy new consoles though. While I’m still on the fence about a 3DS, I most definitely will not buy a PS4, so no Kingdom Hearts III for me, alas..

7 thoughts on “Game over. Continue? Nintendo Book Tag

  1. Fun fact: when I was twelve, my mother and I could not beat Oracle of Ages for some reason. We kept getting stuck on the boss from the second dungeon. Ugh. The handheld Zelda games are my favorites ever. I do enjoy Kingdom Hearts, but I do not have a PS4 either…and am too broke to take that plunge.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Those Zelda games are really hard! And I agree, while I like Skyward Sword en Twilight Princess, there is something about the handhelds that makes me like them more 🙂

      Like

  2. I love this! Really cool how you incorporated books into these rankings. Nintendo was such a huge part of my childhood (and even now with my Wii and 3DS). I was really into pokemon and Ocarina of Time is still one of my all time favorites. Oh the nostalgia.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks! Can’t take full credit on this, though. Do wish I could come up with something like this.
      Yes, Nintendo was my childhood. That and books. Games like these never get old, do they? It’s still a good time when I take out the handheld 🙂

      Like

  3. Omg this tag is the greatest! Why isn’t it more popular in the blogosphere? I am still glued to my Wii U and 3DS being the shameless Nintendo fangirl that I am – my heaven = the game section in Tokyo’s Yodobashi Camera. How clever, and I love all your answers 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

