Top 5 Wednesday. Favourite character tropes.

Every Wednesday, people from all over the bookish world gather ’round to share their top 5 lists concerning whatever theme that week. All under the watchful eye of the Mother of all Top5’s, Lainey. It wasn’t until today that I decided to participate in T5W this week, cause I had a very hard time coming up with tropes in books that I actually like. But look here, I found the fab five!

5. Girl On Fire
When it comes to the main characters, I have a big preference for the female lead. Perhaps I read the wrong books, but most of the male leads tend to become huge douches. So yes, give me the strong, sassy, female lead anytime.

4. Hidden Powers
In Fantasy literature, it’s a tale as old as time. One rainy day, our main character discovers his or her secret powers and has to learn to control them so the world can be saved. Overused though it may be, when done well, I really like all that comes with this kind of plot. The trying, the failing, the mentor, …

3. The Climb
It mostly comes with with the Hidden Powers-trope, but a character who goes from rags to riches also manages to keep my attention without rolling my eyes all too much. There is something strangely alluring to a character who finds out he or she is more than they thought they were. It’s stories like these that really get our imagination going. Don’t we all dream, aspire, hope to one day become more?

2. Evil Ones
Good vs. Evil, another tale as old as time. This is a popular one that comes along with the big epics and when done right, I really love this. Big quests for overthrowing the evil empire, what’s not to like? The thing is, the evil one can’t be all bad. Give him some redeeming qualities, a sob story, a traumatic past, anything. Make me feel conflicted, make me see his side of the story, .. That way, the battle between good and evil becomes way more interesting. It makes a victory of good way less a given.

1. Sassy Sidekick
Sidekicks. I do love my sidekicks and sometimes they are even more likeable than the main character. The fun thing with the sidekick is that they don’t have to follow conventions. Even when you’re going with the anti-hero as a main character, there are certain things your main character can’t do for he or she would lose all credibility. No matter the plot, the main character is obliged to walk the lines and can’t stray to far from the path. The sidekick, however, is there to assist, but does not have to uphold credibility. Thus, the sidekick can be sassy, rude, clumsy, moody, … The comic relief often lies with them and I absolutely adore them for it. Jenks, Cara, Bob, Luna, … Here’s to you!

Click here for a complete list of all the participants in T5W.

6 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday. Favourite character tropes.

    • It is similar indeed. I had not made the link with Cinderella, but you are right. Probably why Cinderella is one of my favourite fairy tales, for it inspires not to settle too easily.
      Pity my all time favourite – The Little Mermaid – only inspired a fear of squid and singing in front of strangers 😛

      Like

Leave a Reply

