Don’t trip on the way to the stage.. BookTubeSFF Awards

After the Hugo Awards this year, some great SFF BookTubers got talking about hosting their own Award-show for the books that are being read by the BookTube and -Blogging community. This way, the books we like get awarded a beautiful prize without all the political ruckus and bigotry that has surrounded these awards in recent years.
As with all the big awards, BookTubeSFF went about it in the right way with a nomination round and all, which has now culminated in an exciting shortlist. In the coming months, there will be readalongs for all of these, and I hereby share with you my predictions and opinions for all of the categories. So, let’s get this party started!

Best Short Work
1. Patrick Rothfuss, The Slow Regard Of Silent Things
2. Brandon Sanderson, Sixth Of The Dusk
3. Matthew Kressel, The Meeker And The All-Seeing Eye
4. Haruki Murakami, The Strange Library

There are some great authors in this section, though I think either Sanderson or Rothfuss is going to go home with the award. Of these, I’d like to read Sanderson and Murakami. Since I have yet to start the Kingkiller Chronicles by Patrick Rothfuss, I won’t be reading The Slow Regard Of Silent Things, alas.

Best Graphic Work
1. Kurtis J Wiebe and Roc Upchurch, Rat Queens vol. 1
2. Brian K Vaughan and Fiona Staples, Saga vol. 4
3. Brian K Vaughan and Fiona Staples, Saga vol. 3

I am not much of a graphic novel reader, to be honest. Actually, I just recently read my first one – Saga vol.1 – and this only because it was misplaced at the library and it was on my path. If it had been where it should have, I wouldn’t have picked it up. I’m not really compelled to read more graphic novels, at least not on a regular basis, but once in a while, perhaps. Thus I have no big opinion on either of these. May the best one win!

Best Young Adult novel
1. Joe Abercrombie, Half A King
2. Sarah J. Maas, Heir Of Fire
3. Marissa Meyer, Cress

This is a tough categorie! I am dying to read some Joe Abercrombie, cause I keep hearing these great things about his books, so I might give that one a try. Also, last year I really enjoyed the first two installments in the Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer – Cinder and Scarlet – and I have Cress, so I will definitely read that one. But in all honesty, I think perhaps Sarah J. Maas is going home with the title. I have yet to read a book by her, even though I own already five and have Queen Of Shadows in pre-order, so perhaps these awards are a good time to catch up on some popular reading..

Best novel
1. Andy Weir, The Martian
2. Brandon Sanderson, Words Of Radiance
3. John Scalzi, Lock In
4. Katherine Addison, The Goblin Emperor
5. Emily St. John-Mandel, Station Eleven

Oooh, the toughest of the tough! If you ask me, I think either The Martian of Words Of Radiance will be the winner, with Scalzi as a dark horse. The Martian also has its movie adaptation going for it in terms of buzz, but I really hope Sanderson takes it. Because it’s Sanderson.
Of these, the only one I see myself reading is Station Eleven. I’ll see about Goblin Emperor and The Martian, perhaps I will, perhaps I won’t, depends on my mood and how the reading pans out in the months to come. I have yet to read The Way Of Kings, so unless I get to that in the near future, Words Of Radiance will just be sitting pretty on my shelf. John Scalzi is a writer whose work doesn’t really appeal to me. I haven’t read anything by him, but the blurbs never do it for me, so I probably won’t be reading Lock In. But you never know, do you? I might surprise myself..

When I have read any of these, I will post a review or something along those lines here. Please do share your thoughts on all of this in the comments below or in the GoodReads Group. There, you can also find the months in which all of these works will be read, so you can participate in the readalongs and prepare yourself for the big event in November.
Happy reading and may the best book win!

If you want more on this, please visit the channels of the hosting BookTubers: Elizabeth, Kaitlin, Nicole, Lindsey and Thomas.

Leave a Reply

