Top 5 Wednesday. My Top 5 most anticipated releases..

Every Wednesday, people from all over the bookish world gather ’round to share their top 5 lists concerning whatever theme that week. All under the watchful eye of the Mother of all Top5’s, Lainey. I’ve wanted to take part for a while, but for some reason never got around to actually doing it. Since one of my previous posts was me looking back on the past half year, this T5W was ideal to get into things and take a look ahead. So without further due, here are the five books I’m most eager to get my hands on!

5. N.K. Jemisin, The Fifth Season
I’ve previously read The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms as well as the Dreamblood duology by her. All three books were very good and a breath of fresh air due to their unique settings. The Fifth Season sounds like it’s going to be precisely that and I can’t wait to read it.
Coming August 4th.

4. Sarah J. Maas, Queen Of Shadows
This one is a bit of a weird one. The thing is, while I’m pumped for this book – which has once again a very cool cover – I’ve yet to start this series. It’s definitely not the first time that this has happened, though, so I’m just going to enjoy the excitement and I’m sure I’ll have a great time reading the whole series when I’ll get ’round to it.
Coming September 1st.

3. Brandon Sanderson, Shadows Of Self
Any new Sanderson is always reason for celebration and anticipation. I can’t tell you how much I loved the Mistborn trilogy and every other book of his that I’ve read so far. I do have to say, though, that while I just adored – adored! – Mistborn, I wasn’t that swept away with The Alloy Of Law. Don’t get me wrong, it was still great, but it just wasn’t all there. I do have high hopes for this one, though. Other Sandersons can’t come quickly enough.
Coming October 6th.

2. Ben Galley, Bloodmoon
I’ve been gushing quite a bit about Ben Galley, haven’t I? The thing is, he writes great books with stunning covers, self-publishes the whole lot and I can’t help but being blown away time and time again. His latest offering, Bloodrush, brought us a western Fantasy with a magic system that can rival with Sanderson. Bloodmoon is the sequel to Bloodrush and I can’t wait to read how it mayhem will unravel further. And if that’s not enough, the final part of the trilogy, Bloodfeud, is scheduled for December. Great times ahead, my friends, great times ahead.
Coming July 24th.

1. Patrick Ness, The Rest Of Us Just Live Here
If there is one author that I’ve come to love-love-love, it’s Patrick Ness. I don’t know what it is, but he know how to touch me. Chaos Walking had me on the edge of my seat, A Monster Calls left me in tears and The Crane Wife brought my vulnerabilities to the surface.
This new book has a cool spin on the tried-and-true Superhero-trope and I’m quite confident it will do something to me. Can’t wait to find out what!
Coming August 27th.

T5W

Bonus round. J.K. Rowling, Harry Potter series
This isn’t really anticipated in the strictest sense cause I’ve read the Harry Potter series over and over again, but as it turns out, later this year the Bloomsbury adult editions are being reprinted in hardcover. We missed out on them last time, so these beautiful hardbacks are sure enough very much anticipated here.

Click here for a complete list of all the participants in T5W.

Leave a Reply

