I love rain. The unpopular opinions book tag.

Sometimes, I feel like every other book on GoodReads/BookTube is awarded 4 to 5 shiny stars and that everything is fantastic and nothing short of brilliant. The thing is, when I read some of those books, I feel the odd one out because I barely give them 3 stars and sometimes that’s even being generous. It’s weird being the one going against the masses and feeling ‘meh’ about popular books. But then I saw the ‘Unpopular Opinions book tag’, created by TheBookArcher. As it turns out, there are others like me! I don’t want to withold my unpopular opinions, so here we go.

Disclaimer: It goes without saying that these are, well, my opinions and you shouldn’t take offence at me bashing your most-loved series or books. Let it be an invitation for a civilised discussion about our differences.

1. A Popular Book or series that you didn’t like.
Where to start.. I feel like every other hyped YA-book I read ranges from disappointing to downright bad. The first that comes to mind is the Touching Juliette/Shatter Me/Whateveritsnamed series by Tahereh Mafi. I picked it up because everybody said that it was so good and beautifully written and ohgosh! Well, I loathed it with a passion. I have full reviews on all three of the novels, which I will post in due time, so I’ll spare you the vitriol here. In summary, I found the writing convoluted, ill-fitting and an overall masking of the lack of everything else. And then there was the romance…
Another big disappointment was the Legend trilogy by Marie Lu. Just like the Divergent trilogy, this one started very promising, but the second one was a bit meh and by the third I was past caring. The big difference with Divergent is that the latter was at least engaging and exciting.

2. A Popular Book or series that every one else seems to hate but you love.
Difficult question, this one. I haven’t really come across a book or series that seems to fit here. The only series that comes to mind is the Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter series by Laurell K. Hamilton. People tend to be very divided when it comes to this series and while ‘love’ is stretching it quite a bit, I do like this series. Granted, I’m only 9 books in (out of 24 at the moment!) so the times they could be a-changing…
The Casual Vacancy is perhaps also a good contender here. I loved that book and thought it was well written, engaging and an overall brilliant read. But apparently I’m not one of many to think so. Shame, really.

3. A Love Triangle where the main character ended up with the person you did NOT want them to end up with OR an OTP that you don’t like.
Shipping isn’t really my thing – I do tend to get seasick.. – and the romance is always the least interesting about a book for me. As a consequence, I don’t do ‘teams’ – unless flippantly and to mock – and I’m not bothered by who gets who in the end. If I have to choose.. One relationship that I never really felt is Ron and Hermione from Harry Potter. Rowling staged it all very nicely with a gradual growing of the relationship, but I would have not put them together. On the other hand, I don’t know how I would have done it differently, but like I said, I’m not really bothered by these romances and stuff.

4. A popular book Genre that you hardly reach for.
Contemporary, for sure. From when I was a mere inches, I’ve been devouring Fantasy and books with fantastical elements. Contemporary has never been my thing and I fail to see the attraction. I’ve read a few, but they all fell quite flat.

5. A popular or beloved character that you do not like.
Tris Prior from the Divergent trilogy by Veronica Roth. In Divergent, I thought she was nice, but a slightly pale reflection of Katniss Everdeen. From the second book on I stopped caring and the finale was a mere ‘whatevs’ moment.

6. A popular author that you can’t seem to get into.
With two books of his read, I’m fairly certain John Green is not my author. It’s not that his books are bad, but they are so cookie-cutter run-of-the-mill predictable and devoid of any gripping emotion except ennui and boredom. As of now I’ve read Looking For Alaska and The Fault In Our Stars. From what I’ve gathered, I think that by not loving those, it’s pretty much a lost cause.

7. A popular book trope that you’re tired of seeing. (examples “lost princess”, corrupt ruler, love triangles, etc.)
Can we get rid of love triangles already? Whenever I come across one in a book, I keep wondering, does this happen in real life? Cause in my teens, I wasn’t torn between two guys and there sure as hell weren’t two boys lusting after me.. Seemingly every YA-heroine comes across this dilemma of the heart, and while I think it’s a pretty cheap way of creating some drama and teen angst, I wonder what message it sends to our teens out there?
Some books even go futher than the triangle and introduce the love square. At this rate, this time next year we will witness the birth of the love hexagonal or something as ridiculously crazy.

8. A popular series that you have no interest in reading.
I am willing to read a lot, hell, I read the whole Touching Juliette disaster. Of the recent popular series though, I have no interest at all in reading The Winner’s Curse. It just doesn’t spark my interest and every time I just think ‘meh’. Same goes for The Selection and a lot of books with girls in pretty dresses.
Another series that I won’t be reading, is The 100. I’ve seen the show and it’s decent enough to have it on in the background when it’s on, but I have no intention of reading the books. Ever.

9. The saying goes “The book is always better than the movie”, but what movie or T.V. show adaptation do you prefer more than the book?
Easy pickings here. The Vampire Diaries for sure. I’ve tried my hands on the first book while already watching the series but it didn’t compare. The series is just way better in every aspect. But I think I’ve made my feelings on TVD pretty clear some time ago.


What are some of your unpopular opinions? Do you agree with mine?
Also, rest assure, I do like Charmander a lot. In fact, he’s my favourite Gen1 starter.

Leave a Reply

