Fearless Sparks Fly. Taylor Swift Book Tag.

Don’t we all have our guilty pleasures? Be it a book, tv-series of music. I do have my share of guilty pleasures of all sorts and musicwise, Taylor Swift is one of them. I do get frowned upon sometimes that I, a 26-years old man, occasionally – nay, daily – like to belt out some Taylor-tunes. It is only appropriate that I participate in the Taylor Swift book tag.
This tag was created by The Book Life and expanded by Kat and myself. Basically, I will associate some books and/or series with some of Taylor’s finest songs, all the while singing along.

1. We Are Never Ever Getting Back Together
A book or series you thought you loved, but then wanted to break up with.
I’ll be anything but original with this one, but for me it’s the Divergent trilogy by Veronica Roth. After really enjoying the first book, I was disappointed with the sequel, Insurgent. It just was not up to par with that fun first book, but I still had hopes that she would right what was wrong and bring the trilogy to a satisfying ending with Allegiant. Alas, it was not meant to be cause Allegiant was everyting I didn’t want it to be. The explanation to almost everything was ridiculous and farfetched, and the ending was just meh. I wasn’t even angry or sad or whatever. By the point it happened I was past caring, to be honest.
Despite it all, I’ll reread them when the last film comes out. Not that they’re great, but well…

2. Red
A book with a red cover.
I’ve been perusing my bookshelves for some red covers who are not that much featured in the online book community. I managed to find a few, but reduced it to these two.

3. The Best Day
A book or series that makes you feel nostalgic.
I wish I could be more original than this, but I can’t not go with the Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling here. I was ten when those books came out and I’ve grown up with them, patiently waiting for the Dutch translation to come out, rushing to the bookstore to buy it and devour it for nights on end. I’m reading them again this year, for the fifth time. If that’s not nostalgia, I don’t know what is.

4. Love Story
A book with a forbidden love.
I’m having a hard time coming up with a decent pick for this song. The best I can do is starcrossed lovers and sometimes that is even stretching it. I guess most of my books are very much accepting and tolerant in so that they don’t forbid anyone to love anyone.

5. I Knew You Were Trouble.
A book with a bad character that you couldn’t help but love.
Cersei Lannister from George R.R. Martin’s A Song Of Ice And Fire series for sure. She is wicked, evil, hungry for power but oh so fabulous. The fact that she is brilliantly portrayed by Lena Headey in the tv-show does only add to her status as my favourite “bad character”.

6. Innocent
A book that someone ruined the ending for.
I have to go with Allegiant for this one. I think I read it fairly quick after its release – or at least the release of my edition – and I didn’t deliberately go looking for spoilers, but still the internet ruined it. As I said before, by the time I came around to the it-moment, I was past caring, but it still wasn’t fun to have random people blabbing spoilers everywhere. I like to have fun too, you know.

7. Everything Has Changed
A book with a character that went through extensive character development.
There are quite some good characters that could fit this song. Fitz Chivalry, for example, from Robin Hobb’s Farseer trilogy and other. If that’s not character development, I don’t know what is. Arya from George R.R. Martin’s A Song Of Ice And Fire has changed a lot between A Game Of Thrones and A Dance With Dragons (but that could be said of almost all his characters) and finally Todd from Patrick Ness’s Chaos Walking Trilogy.

8. You Belong With Me
Most anticipated book release.
There are always quite some books I’m looking forward to, that’s the thing when you have a bookish obsession. Off the top of my head, I’m always looking forward to any new Brandon Sanderson release and in the very near future, I’m anticipating the mmpb release of The Witch With No Name, the final book in Kim Harrison’s The Hollows/Rachel Morgan series. This is one of the best urban fantasy series out there, if you ask me, and I can’t wait to see how it will all wrap up.

9. Forever And Always
Favourite book couple.
This is not that easy a question. I’m no shipper of sorts and while I can appreciate a good love story, it’s not my main source of interest in a book. As such, I don’t really have a favourite couple. The closest I can come here are Jill and Rhodry from Katharine Kerr’s Deverry cycle. I did find myself silently rooting for them and melting a little bit when their paths crossed in the years spanning their lives together.

10. Come Back, Be Here
A book you won’t lend out in fear of missing it too much.
Confession. I have a hard time lending out any of my books and I get a little bit angry anytime a book comes back with cracks in the spine or worse. As such, I try to lend out as little as possible. Books that will never ever leave my possession though, are anything from Brandon Sanderson or Robin Hobb. They are just too pretty to risk coming back manhandled. Especially the Robin Hobb ones glimmer so beautifully on the shelves when the light hits them right. No one touches them without my supervision!

Bonus Tracks!
11. Teardrops On My Guitar

A book that made you cry a lot.
I am not one to shed a tear on a regular basis when reading. Sometimes a particular scene can make the air particularly dry or make my allergies act up, but no downright crying. The Art Of Racing In The Rain by Garth Stein, however, made me cry. On the train nontheless. A nice second place is for Terry Goodkind’s Temple Of The Winds. The scene with Raina and the squirrel. If you have read the book, you know what I mean.

12. Shake It Off
A book you love so much, you shake off the haters.
Well, love is perhaps stretching it a bit, but I really enjoy the Anita Blake series by Laurell K. Hamilton and there is quite some hate directed toward this series. Still, I don’t care and read on and have fun. Granted, I’m only on book nine (out of soon to be twenty-four), so I have yet to hit te mark where half of its readers turned it down. Still, I like me some Anita!

13. Style
A book or series that never goes out of style and you just love to reread.
I already mentioned I’m reading the Harry Potter series for the fifth time. Harry just has that James Dean daydream look in his eyes and never goes out of style.

14. Haunted
A book that stayed with you long after finishing it and you had a hard time getting over it.
For this, two come to mind right away. Brandon Sanderson’s The Hero Of Ages and Robin Hobb’s Assassin’s Quest. Both books left me drained and even though they both hit the 800p mark, I was left wanting more. After both of them, I whished I could go back and had to take a few days off to recover before I could pick up another book.

Compile your own Taylor Swift bookish tracklist and give me a heads up on the books you’ve selected. Are any the same?

One thought on “Fearless Sparks Fly. Taylor Swift Book Tag.

  1. Pingback: Out Of The Books (Taylor Swift Book Tag) | Ana Reyhs

Leave a Reply

